Svenska 101

or I guess maybe svenska level 2 or 3? I am not necessarily a beginner at Swedish. I can understand about 70% of what is going on around me. But, I want to make the transition to speaking. I can speak to my husband and I can pronounce words how they are supposed to sound but I am SO nervous to speak. I am sure that is only natural when you are speaking a foreign language but it is time for me to make the switch from understanding to speaking.

How am I going to do that with no formal Swedish classes?

Astrid Lindgren!! I know enough Swedish that I can read books but I may have to have the dictionary close to me. I believe that reading children’s books will enable me to learn Swedish grammar better so that I, myself, can speak. As it is now, some one can speak Swedish to me but I can only answer back in English.

Along with reading books in Swedish, I am going to set aside a few hours each week that Hans and I can only speak Swedish with each other.

I also picked up a book for when I have graduated to the next level of Swedish ๐Ÿ˜‰

Twilight!! (Squeals like a 15 year old girl!!)

I had such an amazing Saturday! I got to see my best girl friend that I haven’t seen in ages. She is German but studies in Sweden and we had a fantastic girl’s night cooking dinner, drinking wine and talking until the wee hours of the morning.

Yes, I wore the same outfit as the other day but I only wore it for a few hours and it smelled clean so no judging on this little blog ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha..

I signed Inga’s Swedish flag when I moved away and now I made a cool trend and a lot of people had signed it. We reminisced about crazy stories and we were talking about moving next door to each other so our kid’s could grow up together, hahaa.. of course, we were getting quite a bit ahead of ourselves but it was so nice to see my best friend again.

I stayed at her apartment and we woke up around 11 (yes I slept in!!!!) and made our way to Wayne’s coffee, which is “our place”. We always met at Wayne’s when I went to school here, it is a tradition that will be kept for a long time.

The view from Wayne’s looking over the Kupolen parking lot. Not a nice view, but I was having fun with my new camera.

xoxo

7 Comments

Filed under Sweden

7 responses to “Svenska 101

  1. Bra du lรคr dej hur dina barn kommer bli de dรฅ antagligen kommer likna Emil en hel del ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. lowandbhold

    Good luck with learning to speak! It’s always hard to get up the nerve to speak a non-native language to native speakers.

  3. Marti

    Good for you on moving toward speaking Swedish. Speaking of Astrid Lindgren, Austin is reading Pippi Longstocking for his literature class right now. Pippi was making pepparkakor.

  4. Good luck on making the transition ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure you will do great!

  5. Kerry

    Lycka till! I’ve always thought it very hard to practice swedish with native speakers because their english is always so good:) 8sidor.se is really nice for practice. It’s an online news source with limited vocab.

  6. Oh! So fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love to learn to speak a new language! Major congrats/kudos/and good wishes

  7. Good luck learning Swedish! I hope you have the confidence to carry on a conversation soon.

    When I went to France, I refused to try to talk to anyone because my pronunciation was SO bad. Now I’m planning a trip to Germany and trying to learn a few words.

Leave a comment