Eh..

How is every one’s weekend going?

I apologize for being nonexistent in the blog world these past few days but I have had a small bout of writer’s block. It’s unbelievable. As soon as I open the web browser to my blog and try to write, nothing comes out. This is the first time that I have experienced this so please bare with me.

Anyway, onto dinner from Friday night. It was lovely, as all other dinner’s that I have enjoyed in Sweden, when I lived here and when I come to visit.

To start, we had baked goat cheese and a glass of cabernet. The appetizer was fantastic! I prefer chèvre over brie, simply because it has much more taste. Helena baked the chèvre in the oven then topped the goat cheese on a bed of ruccola with roasted pine nuts and a drizzle of honey.

Ruccola has a spicy taste to it, much different than that of spinach. It tastes well paired with the chèvre and the sweet hint of honey.

For the main entree, Helena (Hans’ mom) said that she just threw together something at the last minute but it didn’t taste that way. She sauteed the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic and then baked in the oven with feta cheese and I have no clue what the sauce was. It was probably made out of butter which is why it tastes so damn good 😉 On the side, roasted potatoes and carrots.

2 more days until I am reunited with Hans!! I am so excited. I miss him so much, it has been 2 months! Can you believe that?

Did anything happen over the weekend that is of interest in the states? Fill me in on the news in the comments section!

6 Comments

Filed under Sweden

6 responses to “Eh..

  1. Errign

    Apparently the east got a ton of snow (Virgina, DC, Philly, Boston, etc)! (Not NH though, where I live 😦 )

  2. Lizzy

    AHHH only 2 more days! girl you gotta be so excited! Yay! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. I’ve never heard of ruccola but it sounds good! 2 days?! YAY!!! Have fun reuniting!

    Here? Just snow, snow, and more snow!

  4. Snow! Snowmen! Sledding! Chanukah (well, that was this past week but I digress).. cold weather 🙂

  5. Thanks for checking out my blog.

    I’m really liking yours!!! Your photos from Sweden are great. And not too much longer before you get to see your husband. 🙂

  6. lowandbhold

    That looks like a great meal!

Leave a Reply

