The Biggest Loser

AKA my neighbour.

I have watched a few seasons of America’s hit show, The Biggest Loser. I never watched religiously but I watch it here and there. This season, I have made a point to keep up with the show because there was a man from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma (my hometown) who was a contestant.. not only that, he lives in the same neighbourhood as my parents (the neighbourhood that I grew up in). His children go to the same elementary school as my step brother. I wouldn’t doubt that my mom and I have passed him running on one of our nightly walks. And this particular man happened to win the biggest loser!!

There was a huge story about Danny in our local newspaper. He is a celebrity around here! No one can doubt that he looks damn good for a middle aged man, and mighty damn good for a man that used to weigh in over 400 pounds.

Danny’s advice on losing weight.. Keep a food journal. “Find out what you eat. It’s all about budgeting. If you don’t budget your money, you end up in debt like I was. If you don’t budget your calories, you end up fat- in debt- like I was! Find out what you are doing and make a change.”

I highly agree with Danny on keeping a food journal for those who have a massive amount of weight to lose. However, for me, I cannot do that. I obsess and analyze every little morsel of food that enters my mouth. So, I can’t count calories or keep a food journal. I know what a portion size looks like, I know that I need protein, vegetables, whole grains and fruit and that is enough for me.

What did you think of the biggest loser finale? or the biggest loser, in general? I think it’s a great show and it has good intentions. The show has managed to wake up Americans and made us realize that we are not a healthy country (in general, of course). The biggest loser shows people that if you put your mind to something and work hard then you can change. You can achieve your goals. But, I think the show can be a bit harsh. Not many people can dedicate that much time to losing weight and spending hours upon hours in the gym. **And Tracy did not look good, in my humble opinion. She went from the overweight side of the spectrum to too thin for her body frame.

7 Comments

Filed under The Biggest Loser

7 responses to “The Biggest Loser

  1. ive never seen TBL! i feel like im soo missing out!

  2. Personally, its a struggle. I actually started a food journal again for the billionth time today… The concept of having to record everything gets to me… a hassle — especially when everyone around me seems to be carefree and fine.

  3. Priyanka

    I am not a regular with biggest loser, I watch it occasionally but I do like it!

  4. Vee

    I think having a food journal can be quite helpful if you have a specific goal in mind (such as training for a competition, loosing a specific amount of weight in a specific amount of weeks etc). However on a daily basis, I agree with you that eating healthily and not obsessing about what goes in as a way to go.
    I love that show. My hubby and I watch it and discuss it on a regular basis (funny, hey?) 🙂

  5. I love that show + Danny! Too cool that he is your neighbor! I love.

  6. Lizzy

    i can’t believe Danny is from your hometown! i love love love him! he was one of my favorites and i was so happy when he won! I love the show so much! I agree with you about Tracey. I seriously thought she looked way to thin, when she left the show initially and they showed her then, i thought she looked great, but at the finale i thought she looked horrible!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. Kristina

    hi, delurking to talk about BL!

    I love Danny. I think he lost about half the weight in his face! he looked awesome at the finale. his outfit was so cute. and yeah, I thought Tracey looked way too skinny. I can totally see her overworking to try to win.

    this was the first season I watched all of (because I knew who Sean was from a singing group he’s in), and I love it a lot, but it definitely does have it weaknesses. I don’t think they have enough education for the viewers about eating better, it’s mostly just sweaty workouts and drama.

Leave a Reply

