Your cravings

I came across an interesting article today about food cravings and what they can say about you as a person. Now, I know that we have all been there. My most embarrassing craving hit when I was living in Sweden. My husband and I were at a party drinking a little wine (okay maybe more than a little) and I had such an intense craving for a Snickers bar. It was insane. I had to get that Snickers bar. Okay, it could have been because I had one glass too many but who cares? It was still a craving. Once I got my Snickers bar, I was a-okay.

Personally, I always crave sweets. Not necessarily chocolate, just anything sweet. I crave crusty bread with nutella or jam, fruit, yogurt, cereal and candy. I have to really force myself to eat something savory because if I didn’t know any better than all of my meals would be sweet. Every once in awhile I will have a craving for spicy food too, hot sauce, Indian food, Mexican food, etc.

The article suggests that your food cravings can give insight to what kind of person that you are. To sum it up:

If you crave…

Salty Food- You go with the flow. You believe that outside influences determine your fate. (This is exactly like Hans!)

Dark Chocolate- You are the life of the party.

Milk Chocolate- You are quiet and introverted.

Spicy Food- You prefer having order to your life and you hate to waste time.

Sweets- You tend to walk on the wild side and stand out.

Sweet+Salty- You are creative but you like to keep to yourself.

So from their perspective, I tend to walk on the wild side and I like to have order in my life. I do like to stand out, but I disagree to a point about walking on the wild side. I did leave my home country and live in Sweden for 1.5+ years which to some people may seem “wild” but to me, it really wasn’t. So the conclusion is up in the air. On the other hand, I love to have order in my life. I hate wasting time and it truly bothers me when people or myself is late.

So, it seems they are not quite on target with this but enough so to really get you to think deeper about your food choices and cravings.

Does your craving coerce with the personality trait stated?

To read more about the article, you can find it here.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Your cravings

  1. lowandbhold

    Is there one for if you crave cheesey things? Haha, I used to always crave sweets but it’s changes to a more savory/spicy craving most often. Though I do crave a piece of creamy milk chocolate every now and then.

  2. Lizzy

    hmm. i crave chocolate of all types, and i’m totally a sweet and salty type of girl! the descriptions pretty much describe me to the T! i love articles like these! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. I saw this article today too! Like you, I am definitely more a sweets person…however, I definitely do not walk on the wild side.

    I see myself more as the sweet+salty personality, so I guess that kind of works. I like salt to 😉

  4. During Summer I craved cucumber for some reason on sandwiches and in salads. I don’t know what that means about me 🙂

  5. I actually read that article in the magazine but I felt a little bit dissapointed because my cravings didn’t really coerce with the stated personality traits, I feel like I’m a little bit of all of that… I’m like you though, I crave sweets most often.

Leave a Reply

