Abundance of fresh produce

Last spring when Hans and I moved back to the US, I got the opportunity to watch my dad plant a beautiful garden. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to watch it grow since we moved to the east coast shortly after.

However, I did make a short trip to Tulsa in the summer time so I got to see the garden it’s prime with loads of fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, berries and herbs. My dad has at least 5-10 freshly picked produce a day.

Until now. The weather is getting colder and the abundance of fresh produce is overflowing. So, he decided it was time to can them.

It was interesting to watch him go through the process. He told me that it took him quite awhile to figure out the perfect way to do it.

These particular canned vegetables will be made into salsa in the future. Check these out!

Habañero!! Hot!

From what I recall, he used simple syrup (sugar+water), lemon juice, onions, garlic, parsley and basil along with the produce in the can.

All finished!! I believe that a combination of pressure and heat is what cooks the vegetables inside the jar.

Now, I want my own house just so I can plant my own garden!

3 Comments

Filed under Random, Veggie

3 responses to “Abundance of fresh produce

  1. I LOVE when my family cans and pickles summer vegetables. It isn’t a process I’ve taken part in for years and years, but it is really interesting! And tasty! 😉

  2. My Dad grows spuds, carrots, peas, cauliflower and cabbage in our back garden. I love taking from the garden and helping him grow them.

  3. lowandbhold

    I used to make pickles from fresh cukes with my grandma and it was so much fun! Those jars look so pretty.

Leave a Reply

