What are you thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving!

My tastebuds are satisfied and my dress is not tight, so I am happy πŸ™‚

This morning was full of casserole baking and Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade watching. I remember watching the parade everyΒ  year since I was young. To think that I had been on the same street a month ago… just amazes me. I wish I could live in new york. It is truly the best city that I have ever been to. I just love that city. Anyway, getting a little off track here. We are all about Thanksgiving today!

My Thanksgiving day outfit.

Striped top- H&M, Black Long Vest- Express and High Heel Boots- H&M.

When we walked into my aunt’s house.. everything was just as I remembered. The smell, the friendly faces. The only thing missing was Hans 😦

But, I have to say that the food was fantastic!! Our Thanksgiving is very traditional. I wouldn’t swap any of these recipes out for anything. They are the tried and true.

We have somewhat of a potluck in our family. Every one brings a few dishes here and there, and the turkey and gravy are made at my aunt’s house. It always works out pretty well with minor mishaps. Today the only problem was my aunt burnt the crescent rolls, oops.. just blame it on Grandma.. hehe.

Appetizers

Crackers and Jalepeno Jelly

Deviled Eggs

Main Course

Cornbread Casserole

Candied Sweet Potato Casserole

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Green Bean Casserole

Stuffing

My Grandma’s Mac&Cheese

And… *drumroll please….

The Turkey!!

There were a few more things added that I didn’t get a chance to take a photo of.

My Plate- Turkey w/gravy, Mac&Cheese, Green Bean Casserole, Broccoli Rice Casserole, and Candied Sweet Potatoes. I only ended up eating a bite of the turkey.

Can you tell what my favorite things were? (Broccoli Rice and Sweet Potatoes!!!)

It was funny because my mom and I were the last ones eating, I guess we are slow eaters? But, we noticed that we had the same dishes left on our plates- the broccoli rice casserole and the sweet potatoes. Both of us like to eat one dish at a time and save our favorites for last. It was pretty funny when we looked at each other and both of our plates looked the exact same. Like mother, like daughter, I guess..

I guess a little too much like mother, haha.. I may have to dye my hair or something. And my brother is being a complete goof in this photo.

After dinner, we reminisced while watching old videos of my favorite cousin playing with vacuum cleaners and myself showing off in frilly dresses, not much has changed. πŸ˜‰

Then, it was time for the dessert!!!! I could skip the whole meal part of Thanksgiving and go straight to the dessert.

I sampled a little of everything. My Swedish chocolate cake and a sliver of pumpkin and pecan pie with real cream.

I was proud of myself today. I spread the lunch/dinner out far enough so that I wasn’t too full and I was completely satisfied. After dessert, my aunt and I decided to take a walk. I brought my walking shoes along with me.

I look like a dork with my dress and tennis shoes. But, that’s me πŸ™‚

I had a wonderful Thanksgiving full of family, friends, laughter and delicious food. I just wish that my favorite person could have been there to enjoy it with us. I miss you Hans.

I am thankful for
1. My health and sanity around food. A few years ago I would have been freaking out after a meal like this.
2. My amazing husband and family.
3. LAUGHTER! and letting loose.
4. Traveling.
5. All the opportunities I have been given.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving? Have a good one!!

10 Comments

Filed under Thanksgiving

10 responses to “What are you thankful for?

  1. Hans

    I’m thankful for a foxy lady πŸ˜‰

  2. Happy belated Thanksgiving!

  3. Yum to the green bean casserole – yours looks crispy and delicious, just like I like it πŸ˜‰

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  4. Priyanka

    What an amazing meal, love everything!

  5. you are SO gorgeous girl!!!!!!!!!!!

    so glad you had a nice thanksgiving– i WISH i ate slower– i really need to work on that! any tips?!? πŸ™‚

    im planning on moving to NYC in september- i love it SO much!!!!!

    xoxoxox

    • innerwellness

      I used to be a fast eater when I was younger but for some reason, I changed gradually to a really slow eater. I am always the last one, haha which can get a bit awkward bc every one stares at you while you eat which isn’t so nice πŸ˜‰

  6. Lizzy

    glad you had such an amazing thanksgiving dinner!! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. lowandbhold

    I agree – the traditional dishes are the best!

  8. MUMMM! πŸ™‚ Your thanksgiving looks delissh!

  9. Everything looks so lovely! What a masterful thanksgiving! We celebrated Thanksgiving several weeks ago because it was the only date that worked for everyone in my family (well, at least of the peopel living in Sweden) so now I’ve mostly got Christmas on my mind! πŸ™‚ I love Christmas!

    Happy to hear you like the new updates, there’s more to come!

Leave a Reply

