Oklahoma has a winery?

After I lived in Europe, I learned to associate wine with good food. These days I just cannot comprehend enjoying a delicious meal without the accompaniment of wine.

So, since my family doesn’t normally drink wine at Thanksgiving, I brought it upon myself to make sure that I bring along a dry, red (my favorite!).

Last weekend, my mom and I were doing a little shopping at the mall, as per usual.. and I spotted a wine tasting booth. After talking with the lady behind the booth, I found out that Oklahoma has it’s own wineries and a few vineyards! Crazy, eh? Who would have thought. Of course, they have to import most of their grapes from Sonoma or the East Coast but all the wines from Tidal School Vineyards is produced on site.

From their website.. “Built in the 1920’s during Oklahoma’s original oil boom, by John D. Rockefeller’s oil company and later acquired by J. Paul Getty, this 8,000 sq. ft. historic school building has been restored and transformed into Oklahoma’s premier winery and vineyard. Open daily for free tours, free tastings, and a free opportunity to have California-style wine country experience, right here in Oklahoma.”

I may have to go check it out. I have been dying to go to wine country but I guess this will have to do for now.

The question is which wine did I pick up from Tidal School Vineyards?

I chose the Cabernet simply because these grapes were the only ones produced in Oklahoma and not imported from other states.

Support Local! I say.

Does your home state ever surprise you?

8 Comments

Filed under Oklahoma, Wine

8 responses to “Oklahoma has a winery?

  1. Oh wow, that’s cool! It makes me think of the wine tasting here…I wish we could have timed ourselves better that day!

  2. Lizzy

    i’ve always wanted to go to a wine tasting. i’m not even sure if MI has their own winery or not, but i would love to find out!!!!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Errign

    I’ve always wanted to go to a wine tasting! It sounds so fun!

    I live in a pretty small state (NH) so I usually have a pretty good idea of what’s going on – we only have beer & cider places here I think!

  4. Det är inte svårt att vara den största när det bara finns en 😉

  5. lowandbhold

    Oh that would be fun to visit! I did a big report over J. Paul Getty in Middle School. Pretty sure you didn’t care to know that though, haha.

    Hope your wine goes well with your meal and that you have fun!

  6. “These days I just cannot comprehend enjoying a delicious meal without the accompaniment of wine.”–Ditto! 🙂

  7. Marti

    Oklahoma has lots of wines. http://www.oklahomawines.org/map.htm. In fact, a lady that lived two houses down from me makes her own wine. It was pretty good too. Summerside is one of my favorite Oklahoma wineries. You can usually find them at the Broken Arrow Farmer’s Market and I’ve seen them in the mall too. Good stuff! Their Velvet wine is fantastic. Austin likes them too, because at their winery in Vinita, they have juice tasting for the kiddos while the adults are tasting the wine. He thinks that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

