Trust your intuition

I decided to take my blog in a new direction. Instead of focusing on one area that interests me, I am trying to post about whatever is on my mind- fashion, celebrities, food, wine or nutrition. I am trying to let go of the restrictions that I put on myself with my blog writing and just let go and write what I please. I hope you all like the turn that my blog has taken because I think it is much more fun to write this way.

Despite the fact that I haven’t posted about food in awhile, I still have been enjoying some noteworthy meals. I haven’t been cooking any elaborate dinners or anything but that doesn’t mean it tasted any less fantastic.

It’s all about the cheese. In moderation, of course. I have been obsessed with melty, gooey cheese lately from Brie to American. I have trouble with lactose intolerance sometimes so when my tummy lets me, I will eat cheese 😉

An American classic.

The Haleigh way. 2 slices of whole wheat bread with a veggie burger, 1 slice of swiss cheese, spinach and loads of ketchup.

On another note, I thought I would share with you some of my tips for the upcoming holidays.

How to enjoy the holiday season to the fullest without going up a dress size.

1. Take note of all the holiday events coming up. For example, I have Thanksgiving dinner plans with my mom’s side on Thursday and my dad’s side on Friday. A holiday party the 11th of December. Then, Christmas and New Year in Sweden.
2. Indulge during these special events instead of the usual weekend treat. I make sure to cut back during the holiday season on all the “extras”. We don’t realize it but all these small things along with the holiday parties do add up. The latte at Starbucks, an extra tbsp of peanut butter, the after dinner chocolate. I completely get rid of these during this time of year.
3. Eat plenty of nutritious, wholesome foods when your not out enjoying the season. We don’t think about healthy eating at Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners so make sure to stock up on the good stuff while at home.
4. Eat the real thing! I want to enjoy my grandma’s pies, my mom’s broccoli rice casserole and my aunt’s sweet potatoes. I don’t want to “modify” all of these family traditions to fit my healthy lifestyle. The truth is I eat well 90% of the time. I want to enjoy the foods of my childhood that I associate with Thanksgiving. I don’t really want the healthy excuse for a casserole. Not my thing. I have noticed that if I try to make an old family favorite healthy, it doesn’t satisfy me as much as if I would have just enjoyed the real thing.
5. No leftovers. Yep, that’s right. Just don’t bring any home. When you know there is stuffing, casseroles and other goodies in the fridge then you are more likely to load up another Thanksgiving plate.
6. Use plates. I never tend to overdo it during the actual holiday dinner or dessert. It is the small bites here and there that can send me over the edge.

And most importantly.. trust your intuition.

Listen to yourself!! Listen to your body and it’s cues. Whether it be that you have had too much to eat or you really want seconds on dessert.

Honestly, if you take note of the events you have coming up and indulge at these events, and not on an every day basis.. then you should be perfectly fine.

Don’t take yourself too seriously. Instead of feeling anxious about the food on the table, talk with family and make wonderful memories with the people who love you. The holidays are a time to spend with the people who mean the most.

Do you like the new style of my blog? or do you prefer the food journal?

10 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Holiday tips, My Life, Peanut Butter, Sandwich, Veggie Burger

10 responses to “Trust your intuition

  1. Lizzy

    i love reading whatever you write. the other day when you posted about your new makeup that you got done and clothes you were picking out made me so excited cause those are all things i’m interested in, and i love talking and reading about them too!!!! love this new direction!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. I really, really like the idea of writing about a collection of things. I am sort of going in that direction, too. There are so many “food diary” style blogs out there, and I have been doing that lately again moreso to help myself see what I am eating, but I think other stuff is actually more entertaining for readers 🙂

  3. I support your decision for the blog direction!

  4. We must have similar taste buds/stomachs because my taste buds love the cheese but my stomach still isn’t too sure about it sometimes. That sandwich looks fantastic!!

    Do what you want with your blog, it’s yours! I may not be able to comment all of the time due to my schedule but I’ll still be reading 🙂

  5. I like the direction your blog is going in – it is fun to read and very interesting as well!

  6. I love your bloggie, and the way you post! I have been thinking of branching off from just daily eats, but we’ll see where it goes!

  7. lowandbhold

    Love it!

    And I totally agree with you tips 🙂

  8. Love the sandwich and the blog.

  9. Errign

    To be honest, I feel like it’s your blog, so you can write whatever you want on it 🙂

    You’re a good writer so either style of post is entertaining 😀

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers

    I’m a fan of the direction of the blog 🙂 Reading just what someone ate in a day can get quite boring so write whatever your heart desires!

Leave a Reply

