An ode to Brie cheese

Brie is a soft cheese that is named after the province in France from which it was originated.

I had not even heard of such a cheese until my freshman year at the University of Oklahoma. Some Frenchies introduced me to the wonder that is Brie cheese. They also introduced me to Nutella which is a whole other story. One way to enjoy Brie is with cracker for a quick, savory snack. Also, Hans and I like to make a meal out of it by serving a french baguette with Brie, wine and some grapes. Whatever way you like to eat it, no one will argue that this cheese is in a whole category of it’s own.

For lunch today, I had a fantastic turkey and brie sandwich.

Crusty bread with Brie, turkey, and lettuce leaves.

Just look at it oozing out of the side. Le sigh. What would I do without Brie?

I have been working on a little project. All will reveal itself with time but let’s just say that I am super excited about what is ahead.

I like to make sure that I keep my thoughts and notes organized. It also helps to have a chic red binder.

What is your favorite way to enjoy Brie cheese? Just a good piece of french bread is enough for me.

8 Comments

Filed under France, My Life, Sandwich

8 responses to “An ode to Brie cheese

  1. I do not know if I have tried Brie cheese! But as a cheese lover (especially with French bread+wine), it sounds like I need to find some ASAP πŸ™‚

  2. Marti

    This is too funny! I was all set to write a post on Facebook this morning (until it broke) about how much I have tried to like Brie cheese, but just find myself hating it more each time I try it. I’m a strong cheese fan and Brie is just.. well.. tasteless and rubbery to me. I’ll give you mine!

  3. lowandbhold

    I like it baked with nuts! Yum!

  4. I’ve never had brie! I feel like I’m missing out though because it sounds so melty and delicious.

  5. Baked brie on french bread is the best! Oh how I am craving some right now πŸ™‚

  6. Errign

    I like it on crackers, but the best way I’ve ever had it was wrapped in puff pastry & drizzled with a chili sauce and served with crackers/hard breadsticks in this crappy little bar by Loch Ness, Scotland.

    Having a giveaway on my blog πŸ™‚

  7. That is a great binder! πŸ˜‰ Suuuper sassy. I have only had brie a few times … 😦

  8. I am not a cheese person AT ALL, but the most beautiful brie i’ve ever seen is wrapped inside flaky pastry dough with a layer of fig marmalade and then baked in the oven so the crust it golden brown. When you cut into it, all the brie oozes out and it’s supposed to taste AWESOME on crackers. heheh It looks gorgeous too! My roommate makes it all the time for parties. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

