Italian white bean & spinach soup

I have had to cut back on the regular spending this month since I purchased Marie-Anne the macbook (switching from a PC to a mac was one of the best decisions I ever made). The simplest way to do that was to eat cheap. Hans and I loved to cook elaborate meals when we were in Charlotte but when I am in Oklahoma, I don’t need to do that.

In the beginning, I ate a lot of sandwiches, wraps and cereal which is all well and good until eating the same thing every day makes you repulsed of the fact of peanut butter and jelly together. (I mean really? I love PB&J’s!!) So, I thought I would be thrifty and cook up a huge pot of homemade soup on a cold late fall evening.

Italian white bean & spinach soup *adapted from this recipe.

1 package of white mushrooms
2 cups boiling water
1 med yellow onion
1 package spinach
1 16 oz can of white beans, rinsed and drained
1 package chicken sausage (I used Archer Farm’s Spinach and Feta Chicken Sausage)
1 14 oz can vegetable broth
garlic powder, parsley, salt and pepper to taste

Combine mushrooms with 2 cups of boiling water. Cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.

Drain mushrooms and reserve the liquid.

Heat some butter in a large nonstick skillet over med-high. Sauté chopped onion and mushrooms for about 5 minutes. Add chicken sausage to the pan. (I had thoroughly cooked them in the pan before making this)

Add the reserved mushroom liquid, spinach, white beans and vegetable broth.

Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and let simmer for 10 minutes.

Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder and parsley to taste. And serve with a delicious slice of grilled cheese- Haleigh style (a slice of gouda and cloudberry jam.)

Warm+Satisfying on a cozy, Sunday night. The funny part about this is that Hans got to watch my Food Network show the whole time. We were talking on skype while I was preparing the soup. It felt like he was in the kitchen with me- kind of.

Work went by fast for a Monday. I was shocked because some of the students in Oklahoma do not know how to dress in cold weather. I saw some kids with a t-shirt and shorts on!! The high was 45 degrees today. Insane. It was cold enough to bring out my winter coat this morning.

Love it! A close up of my outfit.

I had to chop off my head. You couldn’t see the detail of the outfit from far away, it looked like a big blob of winter clothes.

Do you have any cold weather traditions? My dad started up his fire for the first time this season, it was so nice to lay there by the warmth all evening.

7 Comments

Filed under Dinner, My creations, My style, Soup

7 responses to “Italian white bean & spinach soup

  1. Chic outfit!

    Cold weather tradition = decorate for the holidays 🙂

  2. Lizzy

    i love your outfit! you always dress so cute! i love it

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Your pot of soup looks delicious 🙂 I love soup in cold weather – it’s so warming and filling!

  4. I love your outfit!!! seriously. And that soup looks fantastic.

  5. DiningAndDishing

    My best friend and I used to lay in front of the heater after school every afternoon as soon as it got cold out. We would turn it up a few degrees over and over to keep the heat blasting til her parents got home and yelled :O).

    Cold weather traditions are the best!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. lowandbhold

    Gotta love beans!

    I have that dress and I loved the way you accessorized it! I might have to copy you 🙂

Leave a Reply

