Coming back to life

I didn’t find a substitute job for today but that’s okay because I took the time to look at my life, as a whole. What was missing, what I am thankful for, where I am presently and where I want to be in the future. Besides Hans, there is one thing that has been missing from my life for the past few months: yoga.

DSC02051

Life got in the way and I neglected my yoga practice, probably when I needed it most. I was stressed about my temporary move to Oklahoma, I was stressed entertaining Hans’ family, I was stressed thinking about my husband job training abroad, I was just stressed. Why did I neglect my yoga practice? I still made exercise a part of my daily life but I pushed my practice to the back of my mind. I believe that I needed a release like running when I was pissed off. You see,  yoga brings not only physiological benefits but psychological as well. Yoga makes us feel. I didn’t want to feel, I just wanted to be angry.

But, that is all over now. I am temporarily living in Tulsa. Hans is on the other side of the Atlantic and I have to deal with it. I am ready for my yoga practice again. So, I lit some beautiful candles.

DSC02053

I sat down on my yoga mat, and I told myself to just breathe. And I did. I was ready.

DSC02057

I was stiff. So stiff and tight all over my body. It was not happy with me, but it will be. I will gradually get back into my practice. Today, I did a 30 min yogadownload. It was exactly what I needed. Slow enough for my body to realize what it had gotten itself into but not too slow that I got bored.

Do you tend to neglect things in life when you need them the most? I can honestly say that I do. Sometimes I just want to be miserable and feel sorry for myself. But not anymore.

9 Comments

Filed under My Life, Yoga

9 responses to “Coming back to life

  1. Good for you!

    Here are those Cappuccino Crunch Bars I was telling you about, http://noblepig.com/2009/10/30/cappuccino-crunch-bars.aspx

  2. I COMPLETELY understand where you’re coming from. I feel the same way! I need to get back into yoga, it keeps me centered.

    xo
    K

  3. Lizzy

    so glad your getting back into something that you love! 🙂

    I can totally sympathize with you on neglecting things in your life. i feel like sometimes i push things away when really i need those things the most, but i’m just so stubborn sometimes, and i need to kick myself outta that!

    have a great day dear!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. what a great post!! girl– i know you are going through a difficult time right now– first of all thank u for sharing this with us. i can totally relate to feeling just BLAH and giving up on certain things. i’m so glad you are able to bring back yoga in your life and have it bring you some peace.

    always here if you need to chat

    xoxoxo

  5. I completely understand this. Sometimes when I’m stressed, I just want to run… though something more reflective like yoga is clearly what’d do me better.

    Glad you’re making the change; your body/mind will thank you 🙂

  6. yeah, it’s strange how that happens, isn’t it? The thing we need the most is often the first thing we push away.

    Glad you got back to it 🙂

  7. Errign

    I totally know how you are feeling – but glad you are getting back into yoga if that’s what is right for you!

  8. I love your candle photo. Looks like it came straight out of a magazine.

  9. Wow, that looks so relaxing..I need to slow down more myself.

Leave a Reply

