The mess that is my life

My day has looked like this

10-27 011

and this

10-27 010

Luckily, I am more organized now.. or as organized as I can get since I am a total scatter brain. I have to write everything down or I forget about it.

 I have been looking forward to cooking my own meals for quite some time- over a week. Going out to nice restaurants and finding cute nyc cafe’s is fun and all but it’s nice to go back home and prepare your own meals, it is soothing for me. I had been dreaming of this breakfast for a few days now, apple oatmeal. Not just any apple, but fresh NC mountain apples that I picked myself.

10-27 001

I just have to take a minute to say how lucky I am to have such an amazing husband. After a horrible day of travel (but really, when is traveling ever not horrible?) I came to something special sitting on my kitchen counter.

10-27 004

It made my day..err, night. And yes, I read it over and over again like a teenage girl.

10-27 005

The good news is that now I have a very good reason to go visit Manchester after New Year’s.

Our fridge is completely empty so I used that as an excuse to have Vegetarian Chili from the deli. Good but not spicy enough for me so I added some hot sauce and garlic powder.

10-27 002

I don’t think anything is spicy enough for me. I get it from my dad. When I was in high school, he scared off some boys by making them eat some very hot peppers. They downed a whole carton of milk and a loaf of bread after that. I cried from embarrassment but now it’s hilarious.

Afternoon coffee was epic today.

10-27 006

Pumpkin cupcake from Magnolia Bakery in nyc. It was smashed from being in my luggage but it was melt in my mouth good. I don’t usually like icing but I may or may not have licked the plate after words- you be the judge.

10-27 007

I bought one for my mom too. We both adore pumpkin. I just hope it doesn’t get too dry by the time that she gets it. Along side my cupcake was some french press coffee.

10-27 003

Coffee+Sweets were made for each other.

Dinner was sushi- a brown rice spicy salmon avocado roll.

10-27 009

I bulked it up with some broccoli.

10-27 008

I am leaving tomorrow for Tennessee and Tulsa-bound on Thursday. I have such a long drive ahead of me. I love living Charlotte but it doesn’t feel like home without Hans here, nowhere does but I am a strong woman and I will get through this. Sooner or later it will be February 4th and we will be back in Charlotte again. Good night! xoxo

11 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cupcakes, Dinner, Lunch, My Life, Oatmeal

11 responses to “The mess that is my life

  1. Awww, very sweet of Hans to leave you that card!

    Have a safe trip to Tennesee and to Tulsa!

    P.S. Thank you for the sweet and thoughtful comment of encouragement and support you left on my blog! It meant a lot to me!

  2. What a beautiful card from your Husband! Don’t you love it when they surprise you like that?

  3. I haven’t had chili in forever! I must have a bowl of that hearty goodness asap. Little love note from the hubs, what a cutie pie!

  4. I understand how you feel that Charlotte isn’t home right now. When Justin and I first moved here, he was traveling a lot, leaving me home alone. It made it really hard at first but as time went on, it definitely got better 🙂 Hope you enjoy your trip back to Tulsa!

  5. Yum yum yum. I LOVE sushi + magnolia cupcakes!!!

    Hope your life gets more organized, soon!

    xo
    K

  6. Lizzy

    what a beautiful card from the hubby! 🙂

    That nyc cupcake looks awesome. I love cupcakes so much better then cake, even though they are like identical!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. Awww, the hubs! What a guy!! That cupcake looks fantastic. I’m with you on the spiciness – nothing is too hot for me.

    Good luck with your drive!!

  8. lowandbhold

    Your apple oatmeal looks so good! Everything does. Sweet card from Hans 🙂 Have a safe trip girl!

  9. Brandi

    aw, how sweet of him to leave the card!

    I hope your trip goes well – and you’re right – you ARE strong 🙂 But I get how you feel. I couldn’t imagine being away from my husband for so long, either. You can do it!

  10. Hope you’re having safe travels!!

    Such a sweet husband to leave you a card 🙂

  11. Errign

    How sweet of Hans to leave you a card 🙂

    Have a safe drive!

Leave a Reply

