Exploring Tapas

Hi! We arrived back to Charlotte from the mountains on Monday evening and it has been so beautiful here since we got back! I am so happy that the Swedes get to experience 20 deg celsius and sunny since that is Swedish summer weather šŸ™‚ Yesterday we walked around Uptown and felt out of place with all of the financial business people with our comfy clothes and cameras, haha.

Last night we got the opportunity to go to Las Ramblas– a Spanish Cafe and Tapas Bar. Hans and I have been here twice before but it was so much more fun to go with more people so we could share more tapas. First, we started off with a bottle of Merlot for the table. I think I had around 2 full glasses, it was a spicy Merlot and I enjoyed it fully.

First up, was the Eggplant and Fried Goat Cheese with Almonds, Roasted Garlic, and Honey.

IMG_1885

I started out taking photos of my portions of the tapas but in the end I took photos of the whole plate to show the beauty of it.

Then came a meat dish that I can’t remember the name of, oops šŸ˜‰ I had 1 tiny piece to taste it.

IMG_1890

Catalan Green Beans- Spanish Green Beans, Raisins and Pine Nuts.

IMG_1888

Grilled Asparagus- One of my favorite dishes. They were crispy and the sauce was light.

IMG_1894

Hans snapped a photo of me in-between tapas. My face looks like “I’m ready to eat!!” haha..

IMG_1892

Braised Beef Short Ribs with risotto. The risotto was amazing, the best I’ve ever tasted.

IMG_1895

I have no idea what this is- I think it’s pork tenderloin with sausage and beans? I had a tiny bite and didn’t care for it.

IMG_1897

Chicken with tzatziki.

IMG_1899

La Mancha Pizza- Arugula, Goat Cheese, Quail Eggs and Truffle Oil. I had an end piece.

IMG_1901

I know that this looks like a lot of food. But, in all honestly. It really wasn’t. All of these plates are tiny. I sampled everything but the key to a dinner like this is tiny portions. I had 1 bite of all the meat dishes and 1/4 of all the other dishes or less. The four of us (Hans, me and Hans’ parents) decided that dinner was quite small so we ordered dessert as well.

Tres Leches Cake.

IMG_1913

Toasted chocolates with olive oil and sea salt.

IMG_1914

Creme de Catalan.

IMG_1916

I had a sliver of the tres leches cake and 1 bite of the creme de catalan. The tres leches was fantastic. And finally we were done. It was a fun time exploring the tapas way of eating. I think I actually prefer this way of eating. You get to try a lot of small bites of several dishes so naturally, you are satisfied with less. Hans said that we should open up our own tapas restaurant šŸ˜‰

Anyway, Have I said how excited I am that I am going to NYC tomorrow?? Yes!!! xoxo

13 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Tapas

13 responses to “Exploring Tapas

  1. I’ve always wanted to try going tapas style! Sounds like smart way to eat you get super rich foods but not the HUGE deathly portions!

  2. I adore tapas and that all looks amazing!

  3. Those desserts look heavenly! I love tapas bars…

  4. HAVE A BLAST in NYC!!!! My favorite city šŸ™‚

  5. I’ve never had tapas but it looks like a fun dining experience! Have a BLAST in NYC!! Can’t wait for the recap šŸ™‚

  6. lowandbhold

    Yum! I love tapas! Everything looks great šŸ™‚

  7. Lizzy

    Have i told you lately, but you are simply beautiful! You looks awesome in that photo! This tapas restaurant looks amazing, and i totally would love to try something like this, all the dishes look amazing!

    Have an awesome time in NYC! šŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  8. Pingback: Swedish Beach » Exploring Tapas Ā« Inner Wellness

  9. Brandi

    have fun in NYC!!!! I’ve never been to a tapas place, but all that food looks great!

  10. Glad y’all had a nice trip. I’ve always wanted to try a tapas bar, everything looks great!

  11. Everything is so pretty! It looks like a really excellent meal, and fun to try little bites of everything. Have fun in New York!

  12. oh my gosh, that food looks too gorgeous to eat! but then of course, i bet it tasted even better than it looks!!

Leave a Reply

