Direct correlation

Happy Sunday! πŸ™‚

I woke up this morning in a wine haze from the 2+ glasses I consumed last night. So, I definitely wasn’t feel my best. I had scheduled to run 3 miles today, so I had a little inner battle with myself for a few minutes.

Angel: You need to run 3 miles today Haleigh.
Devil: I just started running a month ago so I shouldn’t run more than 3 times a week.
Angel: But, you will feel so much better if you get out of bed and get moving.
Devil: Bah, I’m tired.
Angel: You love running and you know that once you get started you will feel proud of yourself.
Devil: Shut up.
Angel: Get your ass out of bed and go!

haha yeah.. nice Haleigh. I was happy once I got started but this run was not my best. I felt very sluggish. The only thing I can think of that could have slowed me down was the wine from last night and the extra sugar from the cookie that I ate. So, no more wine or sugar the day before a run. I didn’t feel in sync with my body this morning and I didn’t like it. I guess it just goes to show you what your body needs vs what your mind wants. Now, don’t get me wrong.. wine and dessert is not a bad thing but I definitely won’t be consuming any more of that before I go for a run. Before the sluggish run, I had Hans take a photo of my running gear- just an old sorority t shirt, running skirt, running shoes and an ankle brace. I have really weak ankles but this was the first time I felt like I needed to wear my brace when I was running and it felt fine afterward, good to know.

DSC01557

It’s getting colder on my morning runs so I will probably be investing in some winter gear soon. But, that wasn’t a problem this morning since I slept in until 8am which meant I didn’t get started until about 10am and I didn’t get back to the apartment until after 11. Enter Brunch. Brunch for me always means pancakes or waffles. I am more of a waffle-girl myself.. but no waffle maker so I opted for some pancakes. The recipe that I threw together actually ended up being pretty good- it made light, fluffy delicious pancakes.

Pancakes for 1
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 container of 0% vanilla greek yogurt
1 egg
1/4 tsp baking soda & 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

And nothing goes better with pancakes than real maple syrup. You only need a tiny squirt of the stuff- it’s so sweet so it goes a long way.

DSC01558

Yum! Perfect brunch for a perfect Sunday.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Direct correlation

  1. Mmm… I love waffles too πŸ™‚ Your running gear looks cute – a lot of my workout gear is tops from college. I was an RA so I have my staff shirt from senior year, and a few other fun souvenir shirts from life at school πŸ™‚

  2. Good for you going for your run even with the dessert/wine hangover. The pancakes look mighty good, maple syrup makes anything better =)

  3. Lizzy

    I love the talk you had with yourself. sometimes you need that! I’m glad you got it accomplished and even though it wasn’t your best run, atleast you set out and did it! i’m so proud of you girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. balancejoyanddelicias

    great willpower! I admire you!!!
    yummy pancakes! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

