Meet my cookbook friend

I was sad when I realized that I had a cut in my mouth, ouch! so no Diet Coke was consumed with lunch. I wasn’t too upset over it since I got to enjoy this instead.

DSC01464

A tall nonfat latte and slice of pumpkin bread. I had a huge craving for this bread this morning and it didn’t go away all day so I gave in and enjoyed every bite while reading my new book. Yes, new book. Hans stole the girl with the dragon tattoo and I have yet to see it, haha.

Meet my Swedish cookbook.

DSC01470

I got it as a gift from Hans’ family for Christmas last year. It has a lot of good recipes ranging from veggies to sweets.

DSC01471

Most of the recipes are traditional Swedish, like herring and other various fishes along with potatoes.

DSC01472

Yes, I tried herring for Midsommar and Christmas. It is très yucky but the Swedes seem to love it. I use my cookbook friend when I make my favorite Swedish dish- paj. It has the perfect crumbly paj crust recipe.

DSC01473

3 dl of flour (I used whole wheat flour)
125 g of butter
2-3 tsp of cold water

Mix the flour and butter and add water until mixture is at crumbly perfection and spread it out using your hands into a round pie dish. Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

DSC01474

I also take ideas from the several paj recipes in the book. Pajs are really simple.

Choose which veggies and other add in’s that you would like. Tonight I chose some TJ’s garlic chicken sausage, mushrooms and asparagus.

DSC01476

Add the veggies+other add in’s on top of the crust.

DSC01478

Pour the egg mixture on top- 4 eggs, 1 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk), 2 small handfuls of cheddar cheese, garlic, salt and pepper.

DSC01479

And bake in the oven for 400 degrees for about an hour.

DSC01485

Now, you got yourself a Swedish paj.

DSC01487

They are truly delicious and fun to make. I also had a side of baked okra.

DSC01480

Dessert was most definitely in the cards for tonight.

DSC01491

About 1/2 cup chocolate froyo with a few peanut butter chips while watching the office wedding- loved it!! Good night!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Meet my cookbook friend

  1. The Swedish Paj sounds and looks like something i would love to try. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Kirsty

    Man, that paj looks amazing. Even though I struggle with the simplest of recipes (don’t even ask about my cookie attempt last night) it looks so yum I’m gonna have to give it a bash.
    Great photo too – looks like a professional cookbook shot!
    Cheers
    Kirt

  3. I’ve never had paj before, but it looks incredible! It’s the next recipe that I’m going to try. Thanks!

  4. The lovely bones is such a good book! I love your swedish cooking =) I needed to check out that office episode!

  5. balancejoyanddelicias

    so cool that you can understand that swedish cookbook! that dish looks delicious!!! 🙂

  6. Mmm pumpkin bread and a pumpkin latte? heaaaven!

    You are so awesome for making that meal! Very talented.

  7. that dinner looks great – how cool to have that cookbook 🙂

    I LOVE that book, the Lovely Bones. So good.

  8. Oh man, ALL of the food in this post look so good! Okra fries are the best!

  9. I am so going to try and make Swedish paj, minus the sausage of course.

  10. Vani

    That paj looks wonderful!!!
    THE LOVELY BONES was totally depressing, but I enjoyed reading it!

  11. wow, swedish paj looks INCREDIBLE! as does the pumpkin bread!

  12. lowandbhold

    Yum! The paj looks great!

  13. You will LOVE that book. Or at least I did.

  14. I’ve never heard of a Swedish paj until I just saw yours and I can say, for sure, I’m making that uber-delicious looking concoction in the very near future… especially with all the mushrooms and asparagus. Yummmm

Leave a Reply

