Bowl o’goodness

Hi!

Hans told me this morning that he was out of granola bars so this afternoon I made him a batch. He loves these things and it is very convenient for him to grab one out of the freezer on his way out the door to work.

DSC01433

Hans’ granola bars are a combination of oatmeal, oat bran, almonds, WW flour, cocoa, almond butter and honey. I am still working on perfecting the recipe. It either comes out too dry or too wet. I can’t seem to find that perfect combo but I’m working on it.

DSC01434

A better look at Hans’ granola bars. This particular patch was too wet, ah well.. I will find that perfect recipe eventually and then I will share. 😉

DSC01436

Afternoon snack was a honeycrisp apple. My first honeycrisp ever, can you believe it? It was good but gala’s are better.

DSC01439

Dinner was a random bowl o’goodness. During crap free week, I got into adding a lot of different veggies in with a whole grain and making a meal out of it. I actually really love this way of eating. You get a lot of tastes and textures in one meal. This bowl o’goodness had.. 1 tiny eggplant, 1/2 cup cooked kashi pilaf, 1 TJ’s sweet apple chicken sausage (can you say obsessed?), garlic, cranberries, spinach and a pinch of cinnamon (told ya that I added cinnamon to everything!).

DSC01440

This meal somewhat resembles the acorn squash filling that I made the other day but not as mushy. So, in my opinion.. much better! A little goat cheese would have put this dinner over the top but sadly, we are out.

DSC01441

This girl is hitting the sack early tonight! When did I turn into such an old woman at 21? Good night!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Bowl o’goodness

  1. Ah you are my apple soul mate! Everyone swears that Honeycrisps are #1–and I do love them–but Galas are crispier, crunchier and my first apple loves! Haha

  2. Those bars look yummies! Uhhhh I love going to bed early!

  3. Bec

    what a great idea to make your own granola bars, I hope you figure out that recipe soon!

  4. The granola bars look yummy. I saw a recipe on Smitten Kitchen a while back for granola bars that I’ve been eager to try out ever since I read the recipe. I picked up a few honey crisps last week, and this week The Boy and I decided to try out three different kinds of apples from our grocery store to see what we like and don’t like: we picked out Jonagold, Fuji, and Braeburn, and I’m eager to get some more kinds soon!

  5. ah i cant believe you didnt fall in love with the honeycrisp! haha.. they are my very fave. bummer though because they are pricey.

  6. your dinner looks delicious! i have started going to bed early too. lol. i feel so old.

  7. The bars look nice and chewy so in my opinion they are perf. already =)

  8. Too wet or not, those bars look amazing! I need to attempt to make my own bars one of these days, they seem easy and so much healthier!

  9. lowandbhold

    Those bars look so good! Hans is one lucky guy.

    I’m on a honey crisp kick, but Galas are classicly good.

    Dinner sounds great!

Leave a Reply

