Rebellion

Good morning! You know how I said that Hans and I were trying to save up $$$ for our upcoming travels? Yeah, well.. that went out the door when I found out about Great Grapes Wine festival that was going on in Charlotte yesterday. It wasn’t too expensive and it comes once a year and hello? a foodie/wine lover’s dream!!! Let’s rewind a little bit. Saturday’s lunch was THE BEST cfw meal so far. I took about 1/2 cup of the stuffing from the acorn squash that I made the other day and added one of TJ’s chicken sausages to it.

DSC01371

This chicken sausage tasted sweet but not overly so. A perfect pair to go along with squash, cranberries and almonds. I also added a few handfuls of spinach in there to get some extra greens in. Yum, yum.. I will be having this meal again and I can’t wait! 🙂

DSC01372

After lunch, we headed out to the trails for a short hike, and that’s when we heard about the wine festival and turned around to go back home and get ready. I was so excited!! Finally, I live in a city that has fun foodie things to attend. I met my girl Whit up at the festival and she was with Kath and some of her friends. I’m not going to lie, I am a shy person so I was super nervous to meet Kath, I mean come on.. she’s like a celebrity in the food blogging world but she was really nice. I know that I said no alcohol during cfw but oh well.. I was a little rebel and sometimes life gets in the way. There were several tiny sips that probably added up to 1 full wine glass anyway. So, I am not gonna fret about it. It was fun!

DSC01375

It was hot. What happened to that fall weather Charlotte? After the wine festival, we were pooped so we chilled at home for the rest of the evening. I made a simple lentil curry for dinner. I used about 1 cup of cooked lentils, 1 can of tomatoes, tomato paste and curry spice. It made 2-3 servings so I stuck the leftovers in the freezer. All served on top of some basmati rice. I added some broccoli in there too. Why? because broccoli is my fav. Yes, really.

DSC01381

I went to bed pretty early last night so I could wake up for my longest run as of yet!!! Can’t wait to tell you guys about it but I’ll save that for a later post 😉 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Rebellion

  1. The money sounds like it was well spent though! That event seems like fun!! I love your curry dinner!

    Can’t wait to hear about your run 🙂

  2. Lizzy

    I love foodie events! aren’t they just so much fun! 🙂 So jeals that you met Kath! how awesome!

    I cannot wait to hear about your run girl! I want all details please!!!!!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Sounds like fun!! Whit and Kath..two great women! It’s so fun you got to meet them!!

  4. lowandbhold

    Glad you had fun at the festival! Everyone loves a little rebellion 😉 I’m a big fan of broccoli too.

  5. I can’t wait to try that sausage, just bought it!!

    xo
    K

  6. So great to meet you yesterday! Hope we can hang out longer next time 🙂

  7. What good are rules, but for breaking, right girl? 😉

    CONGRATS on your 6-miler, that is awesome. Can’t wait to hang out again! xoxo

Leave a Reply

