Life takes me

I know I said that I would post 3 times a day during cfw but sometimes life takes me away and I have no time to blog πŸ˜‰ You understand. Yes? Hope so.. well, let’s rewind to yesterday afternoon when I had an overripe banana as a snack.

DSC01363

I had a fun dinner in store for last night. I looked up several recipes for stuffed acorn squash. This was my favorite that I took inspiration from but I still put my own spin on it. I baked the acorn squash in the oven face down for 30 minutes at 400 all the while preparing the stuffing. I used 1/2 cup uncooked kashi pilaf, 1/2 an onion, 1 apple, handful of slivered almonds, cranberries, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and some extra squash from the middle. I scooped the stuffing into the acorn squash and baked for 30 more minutes. I let them cool off then sprinkled some more cinnamon and cranberries on top.

DSC01364

This was my first time making acorn squash and I think it turned out pretty well and I have a lot of extra stuffing as leftovers πŸ™‚

Hans and I are keeping it pretty low key this weekend. Trying to save up the $$$ for when I go to nyc and he goes for job training abroad. Not a problem.. just a bit boring now but I will thank us later. Breakfast this morning was the usual crap free brekkie. I seriously can’t go more than one day without plain banana oatmeal. It’s perfect with just a pinch of cinnamon. I actually used tea water this time but I couldn’t really taste a difference.

DSC01367

Then we were off to the farmer’s market! Yay, I love farmer’s market Saturdays!! Too bad this was probably the last one.

DSC01369

After the farmer’s market, it was time for TJ’s and now I am happy to say that our fridge and pantry have been restocked!! which means a lot more interesting meals!

Hope you enjoy your Saturday!!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Life takes me

  1. Errign

    I love the farmer’s market too! Sadly in the frozen tundra that is the northeast, they’ve been done for weeks. 😦

    Your acorn squash looks fabulous, I’ve never stuffed one before!

  2. No worries! Just blog when you can πŸ™‚

  3. lowandbhold

    OMG that acorn squash looks so good. The combination of flavors sounds killer. I usually only manage to post once per day on the weekends. No worries πŸ™‚

  4. Your squash looks delicious! I only blog once a day most days, so blog when you can πŸ™‚ It’s fun seeing snippits of your life, and farmer’s markets are fabulous!

  5. Lizzy

    i’m so sad that the farmers markets are coming to a close for us here in MI too. but that just means apple orchards! haha hope your having an awesome weekend love!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  6. The stuffed acorn squash looks awesome!

    Good job getting your fridge and pantry all stocked. I love shopping at the Farmers’ Market… Unfortunately, I didn’t get my grocery shopping done today… 😦

  7. I got to see you today! YAY! πŸ˜€

  8. Oatmeal with banana is my favorite, too! And sometimes I add cinnamon to it, too!

  9. woah baby that acorn squash sure does look delicious πŸ˜€

  10. balancejoyanddelicias

    I need to restore my fridge too! πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Bowl o’goodness « Inner Wellness

Leave a Reply

