I can be a runner

Good morning! October 1?? Did this month come totally out of blue? Where did September go?

Last night, I was getting a little bored so I decided to bake some cookies for Hans to take to work. I briefly looked through the pantry and threw together a nice, healthy little cookie. Hans said they were okay but he is not one to like cookies so who knows how they really turned out.

Almond butter cookies
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup almond butter
1/4 cup TJ’s maple/agave blend
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and mix wet ingredients in another. Then add dry ingredients to wet ingredients.

DSC01334

Stick in the fridge for about 20 minutes and then roll the dough into a ball on a prepared baking dish. Smash down the ball with a fork and bake in the oven for 25 minutes at 300.

DSC01336

Up close & personal.

DSC01337

These cookies made the apartment smell wonderful all evening. After the cookie baking it was time for Glee!! Yay, Kristen Chenoweth!!! She is from Broken Arrow!!! The same town that I grew up in, in Oklahoma. Fast forward to this morning and I woke up stoked for my run today!! My legs have been sore since my last run on Tuesday but they felt okay this morning so I headed off for my 3 mile run without a second thought. In the beginning, my legs felt really stiff but after I got started, the stiffness went away. My body found this fantastic rhythm, and it felt like it could carry me anywhere. When I was running, all I kept thinking is that it is possible for me to become a runner. All the thoughts before were just excuses.. 1. I might hurt my back since it’s already sensitive to becoming injured 2. I could never run in high school 3. I am not meant to run 4. I have never really ran before 5. I am so slow when I give it a try… all these things are just EXCUSES!! I finally realized that if I put my mind to it then I can keep going and I finished 3 miles in 30 minutes!! which means 10 minute miles! awesome.. for only starting to run frequently a few weeks ago, I am pretty damn proud of myself. πŸ™‚

Can you guess what I had for breakfast this morning?

DSC01338

Yep, banana oatmeal enjoyed out on the balcony. I didn’t have to add any sweetener to it this time. I kinda liked it that way.

CFW day 2- In Review

Yesterday went quite well until last night. Hans was enjoying a spoonful of Nutella sitting right next to me, and I could just smell how amazing it tastes and right then I knew this evening was going to be hard. But, I fought back and made myself some herbal tea and I was good. When I baked the cookies, I didn’t even lick the spoon.. talk about self control right there.

Do you have any good ideas for another CFW breakfast besides oatmeal? No bread, cereal or granola. Have a nice day ladies!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I can be a runner

  1. INCREDIBLE cookies!!

    For the breakfast = how about an omelet, green smoothie, Larabar/Pure bar, fresh fruit & nuts…

  2. You are doing so well and are so inspiring with your running! And I just watched Glee the first time last week – I missed it last night! So cute.

    Breakfast ideas: I know you said no granola, but what if you made your own (I made a really easy REALLY tasty Berry Almond Granola recently)…have it with yogurt and fruit. Or you can do yogurt (as long as it’s low sugar..maybe a plain Oikos?) with ground flax, pumpkin seeds, and fruit. πŸ™‚

  3. Brandi

    great job on the run!!!

    I know, I can’t believe it’s October!

    My favorite non-oatmeal breakfasts:
    yogurt with fruit, nuts

    smoothie (green or not)

    eggs any way! scrambled with veggies, an omelette, over easy over some grits or oatbran and fruit on the side, a veggie hash type dish with eggs. I love eggs πŸ™‚

    leftovers from a lunch/dinner

    soup

  4. Egg whites w/ veggies + some fruit
    Greek yogurt (0%, unsweetened) w/ fruit, nuts or crumbled larabar (they’re pure!)
    Smoothie are also a great option!!

    xo
    K

  5. lowandbhold

    My college roommate was from Broken Arrow, I know it’s a big school but it’d be weird if you knew her. She knew EVERYONE!

    I love Kristin Chenowith but I haven’t been watching Glee. I don’t even know why not?! Are the previous eps available online?

    You’re doing so great with your challenge! Is yogurt a crap free food? You could do yogurt plus fruit? Or you could make your own granola with oats + nuts?

    • innerwellness

      What was your roommates name? Maybe I know her. Glee is a really cute show, I started watching it last week but I haven’t looked if they have the old episodes online, maybe they have it on hulu? I will check it out πŸ˜‰

      Have a good day!
      Haleigh

  6. Tra

    egg white scramble? beans traynharder style? =D
    once i made myself a chicken breast. =D

Leave a Reply

