Crap Free Week Details

So, if you haven’t heard.. I declare this week Crap Free Week! What does that mean? For the next 7 days, September 29 through October 6, I am eating clean. Basically, my way of describing it is… rewind 100 years ago, would they eat what I am eating? Or would they look at me and think that I am crazy? Haha, make sense? Just all natural, basic eating. Thanks for all the positive response yesterday regarding crap free week. I believe if we have a support system with this then it will be a lot easier! Shoot me an email if you want to officially enter CFW with me halek88@hotmail.com

Do’s– Lean meats such as chicken and fish, eggs, fruits, veggies, beans, nuts, whole grains, yogurt, green smoothies, olive oil, etc.. if it has minimal ingredients then it’s a do. In fact, if it is just one ingredient than that’s best.

Dont’s– Anything that is overly processed such as cereal (that’s a big one for me!!), granola, bars, deli meats, canned soup, crackers, butter, protein powder, bread, artificial sweeteners, cookies+brownies and other sweets, alcohol, added sugar. If it’s not mostly natural then it’s a no go.

I am not giving up coffee. I just love it too much and I don’t believe that coffee is a bad thing for me. I drink only 1 cup a day, 2 cups tops so I don’t believe that it’s a problem in my diet. The hardest part for me will be no wine and no sweets. I also rely a lot on bread, wraps, pitas, etc.. So I think that may be a bit hard too. I am on the fence about nut butters. They are healthy, yes, but I tend to add a bit too much nut butter here and there. So, I will use it sparingly. I have a lot of things coming up in the next few weeks. Family coming to visit and going to NYC and I want to go into these things with a clean conscious knowing that I ate clean beforehand.

I am going to be posting 3 times a day. Once with each meal. This is mostly for me so that I can see how I am doing. I am a visual person so I think this will help me out immensely. Also, I know that if I post everything that I eat, it will hold me more accountable. I usually post about 90% of what I eat but not everything, but that won’t be the case this week. So, let’s get to it!

*CFW* Day 1- Breakfast

I bounced out of bed this morning because I was so excited for the fall weather this week!! Charlotte finally got the memo that it is fall, and this week the high’s are in the 70’s and the low’s are in the 50’s. Perfect fall weather! I drank a cup of coffee and headed out to the trails for a run. It was amazing this morning. The air felt crisp, even a bit cold and I felt like I was flying the whole way. My body got into this beautiful rhythm and nothing could stop it. I have been running the same trail (about 3 miles) during the week so I can gauge how I am running. Since I started 3 weeks ago, I have shaved off 10 minutes of my time. 🙂 In the beginning, I had to walk a few times and now I can run the whole thing and it feels so amazing. (Said while patting myself on the back!) I never thought I could be a runner and now I think that it’s possible!! Anyway, once I got back from my run, I showered and started on breakfast.

Banana Oatmeal. Simple and the perfect way to kick off CFW.

DSC01314

My oatmeal contained: 1/2 cup oats (I actually use 1 dl which is a little less than 1/2 cup), 1 cup water, a pinch of salt, cinnamon and a splash of almond milk. I also added a sprinkle of brown sugar to the top. My goal is to add less and less brown sugar to my oatmeal as the week progresses. I usually add about 1 tsp of maple syrup so this oatmeal was a lot less sweet than my norm. Now, I am satisfied and ready to start the day!

Don’t forget to shoot me an email if you want to officially join me with CFW! There will be some goodies at the end for one of you! xoxo

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Crap Free Week Details

  1. I agree with you on the coffee thing. Coffee itself is fine, when people start downing macchiatos, fraps, etc. then it can be bad news. Good luck!! You’ll do great! Congrats on that run as well 🙂

  2. Yay on the run! I no can do CFW this week, but kudos to you! 😀

  3. Bec

    good luck with your CFW!

  4. lowandbhold

    Good luck! I’m the same way about the coffee. I just have one cup a day and don’t sweat it.

  5. love the crap free week decision! good luck with that, you will do great. and if you don’t, you will have 100 bloggers screaming at you, so i am sure that is some motivation 🙂 gotta love accountability!

Leave a Reply

