Regnig lördag

Hi!

It has been a lovely Saturday despite the never ending mist/light rain that we have been having today. Actually, I love it- to be honest. It is nice and cozy and gives me an excuse to stay in and cuddle with Hans 😉 Breakfast this morning was delicious! I woke up late so it was more of a brunch. I made banana pancakes with a whole wheat buttermilk pancake mix. On top, I added some greek yogurt and TJ’s maple agave blend. Such a yummy Saturday brunch.

DSC01240

I am really digging this syrup, the taste is unique and it’s much less expensive than regular maple syrup.

DSC01239

We ventured out in the gloomy weather for a grocery trip to TJ’s, which was very successful. I have been really working on our food budget this past month and my hard work is finally paying off!! We were way under budget for this week. Sweet! After grocery shopping and cleaning, I started to prep for dinner. I had only eaten brunch so by 4 pm, I was definitely ready to start making an early dinner. I made one of Hans’ favorites a lax-paj with eggs, salmon and broccoli. I started out by making the crust which was 1/2 stick of butter, whole wheat flour and some milk. Baked in the oven for about 10 minutes and then I added some smoked salmon on top of the crust, then some broccoli, and then an egg/milk mixture with spices and sprinkled some aged cheddar cheese on the top. It turned out delicious.

DSC01246

My amazing piece of lax-paj.

DSC01249

After our early dinner, we were going a bit stir-crazy so we went out for a walk in the trails. It was slowly misting so we thought it would be fine. We got a little rainy but not too bad.

IMG_5196

Ah, bad rain hair.. haha.

Now we are happily settled on the couch watching Dexter for the rest of this rainy evening. No joke. You can bet that this will be consumed throughout the night.

DSC01256

And you can also bet a glass of red wine will be enjoyed later on, or perhaps two 😉

I have a 5 mile run planned for tomorrow morning!! Wish me luck!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Regnig lördag

  1. LOVE Trader Joe’s syrup/agave.

    Enjoy ‘Dexter’!

  2. P.S. – BEST of luck with your 5K tomorrow 🙂

  3. The greek yogurt and maple syrup look so delicious on your pancakes! Hope you have a good rest of the weekend.

  4. Errign

    Good luck on your run tomorrow!

    Your pancakes look fabulous 🙂 I sent your address along to the Glee Gum folks, so hopefully you will be seeing some all natural gum soooon!

  5. Just found your blog. I love Trader Joe’s- that place alone helps me be under budget for groceries 🙂
    Good luck on the 5 mile run tomorrow!

  6. Lizzy

    trader joes = foodie heaven! 🙂

    good luck with your run girl! 5 miles will be amazing and your gonna rock it!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. I like rainy days too- as long as I don’t have to go outside!

    Love the lax-paj… I may have to try something like that!

    Good luck with the 5-miler!

    xo
    K

Leave a Reply

