Leftover Face-lift

Good morning lovely ladies! I hope your morning is off to a lovely start! Mine sure is after my 3 mile run this morning! More on that in a few 😉 Last night Hans and I went on our daily hike. Twas wonderful with the crisp fall air. When we got back, I gave my chili leftovers a face-lift  by stuffing it into a pita with some carrots. On the side, I had okra fries with ketchup. I actually prefer the chili this way rather than plain.

DSC01178

And moving on to my 3 mile run this morning… Ah, it was quite amazing. AND I didn’t have to stop to walk once. Sweet! I think the reason why I have felt such a passion for running these last few days is because I have been running in the forest. Forest>pavement when it comes to running. First of all, it feels less harsh on my body and I feel at one with the world. It keeps me guessing, it’s beautiful and I saw 10+ deer this morning! No need for an ipod when  you can listen to the rustle of the trees 😉

When I got back from my nature run, I had a warm bowl of oats. Very plain but very satisfying.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • cinnamon

DSC01181

Thank you for the awesome beginner runner tips yesterday! It seems like most of you think that I shouldn’t push myself too hard to prevent burnout and injury. I say, great tips ladies! And keep em’ comin’ 😉 So, my next question for you is…

Which stretches should I do pre and post run to prevent injury?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Leftover Face-lift

  1. Mmmm oats… and CONGRATS on your run!! Awesome job, I wish i lived near the forest. I love running in nature as well, it just makes it feel even more natural, like your body is where it’s supposed to be.

    As for stretches, all recent research has shown that static stretches before a run do not prevent and sometimes cause injury, so don’t stretch when you’re cold! You can do like, a 10 min warm up walk/jog and then do some moving stretches, basically exagerating the moves you make when you run.

    Stretching afterwards is beneficial. I stretch my calves, hamstrings, quads… sometimes arms as well. If you have a tight IT band (ligament between hip & ankle), you can look up IT band stretches om YouTube, they can help tremendously.

    I find just doing yoga already keeps me stretchy, although i haven’t done any recently. You can look up short vids on YT like ‘” yoga for runners”, which are great cool down stretches.

  2. Great job on the run! Honestly? I don’t really stretch a whole lot, except for a few lunges. With your yoga practice, you should be fine.

  3. Pigeon pose is great for pre/post-run for me – my hips get very stiff if I don’t stretch them out!

    I am SO JEALOUS of your nature runs!! Although you’ll definitely have to do a Central Park (or Riverside Park) run while you’re in NYC!

  4. running in the forest sounds amazinggg! i don’t like running on pavement either- doesn’t make my body feel good 😦

    i agree with whit- you should be fine with your yoga. i don’t really stretch that much either.

    okra fries look yummy- still have yet to try them but one day i shall.

  5. I’m going to have to try stuffing chili in a pita! That sounds yummy!

    I’d recommend stretching your IT bands both before and after running – that’s what usually sidelines me when I catch the running bug. I have REALLY tight IT bands and after a run, if I don’t stretch, I can barely walk.

  6. mmm chili in a pita, what a great idea! it is getting so cold here, your pita and your oats look so perfect for the weather. i will check back to read the tips, i need some of my own!

  7. Sounds like a great run!

    I’m not really a runner, but I like to pretend I am sometimes. I agree with these girls: pigeon pose is the most important stretch for me. Also try cobra and a simple forward fold. These 3 stretches should take care of most of your running muscles.

  8. Your okra always looks so yummy. What seasonings do you use on them?

    • I season them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and vegetable supreme seasoning (lol, that’s what it’s called.. it makes any vegetable taste good) and bake them in the oven for about 20 minutes at 400. They are delicious!

  9. lowandbhold

    It would be amazing to have a place like that to run. Not so much here though. I’m glad you’re enjoying it so much!

    And I love anything stuffed into a pita 🙂

  10. Lizzy

    Like i’m sure alot have said, yoga will totes do it! great job on your 3 miles girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

