Mind, Body, Soul

I hope every one is off to a good start for the workweek! I am in the middle of baking a batch of kanelbullar. It is so peaceful to bake so early in the morning, lovin’ it!

I have decided to give running a shot. My goal is against myself. If I try to live up to the running skills of any of you other bloggers out there, it gets very intimidating because I have never ran before in my life. But, I am trying and I really love it. Yesterday, I set out for a run. I had one thing on my mind. I wanted to finish. It didn’t matter how long it took or how many walk breaks, I just wanted to finish. And finish I did. I ran 5 miles in a little under 50 minutes. It was beautiful. I ran in the forest on some biking trails and I just felt at peace with myself and the surroundings, at one with the nature and my mind, body, and soul. I can’t even begin to explain the feeling. Anyway, pre run I had a TJ’s mini pita with a smear of almond butter.

DSC01138

Sweaty+Happy after my longest run, as of yet.

DSC01148

Post run I had a GM- banana, spinach, and almond milk.

DSC01151

I was happy for the rest of the day. Unbelievably tired but happy. For lunch, I made a snack platter of cottage cheese, Dr. Kracker, sun dried tomato hummus and carrots.

DSC01157

After a few errands, I had a snack of a gala apple and some peanut butter.

DSC01158

I started dinner around 3 pm since I was making turkey chili, I wanted it to set for awhile. Chili always taste better that way. It simmered for a little over 3 hours, mm… perfect! I used the recipe from cooking light with a few minor adjustments. It turned out great. Warm, spicy and perfect for this cooler weather that we have been experiencing. On the side, I had a corn vitamuffin. It tasted exactly like cornbread. Perfect for dipping in my chili, and topped with some cheddar cheese.

DSC01160

Do you have any suggestions for a beginner runner? xoxo

P.S. Click here to follow my blog on twitter.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Mind, Body, Soul

  1. Brandi

    great job on the run!!! just make sure to start out slow and not push it too hard – you don’t want to injure yourself!

    What a great way to start, though. sounds like you had a good run.

    Yum – I’m making chili this week, too 🙂

  2. Wow, all your eats look great. I can’t wait for the weather to cool off just a little bit more in Texas so I can make chili. It’s still too hot right now.

    Congrats on the good run!

  3. First of all, five miles is amazing for your first long run ever! Seriously! and a 10 minute mile? Also REALLY GOOD! Just don’t push yourself and take it slow especially at first. You did great!

  4. congrats on the run…that is awesome! running is the best thing to keep at bit by bit!

    love that snack plate…i think those are my fave. and chili! cannot wait for it to get colder to enjoy that 🙂

    love the new layout – sorry its been awhile since i have visited 🙂

  5. As a non-runner myself, this post totally inspired to me to try it out. I live in downtown Boston so I can’t really find a beautiful trail like you did, but maybe running along the Charles River would be nice. I have terrible asthma and bad knees so it really never works out for me.
    Your Green Monster sounds simple and delish. I always spoof mine up with too many add-ins.
    Love your turkey chili idea, I can’t wait to whip up a pot for myself once it gets a bit cooler. The corn vitatops is genius too!!!

  6. Awesome run!!! I never run 5 miles that fast 🙂 I think the most important thing to remember is to SLOW DOWN if you feel yourself getting burnt out and not enjoying the run . . . and that there is nothing wrong with taking a break to walk/stretch. Run for yourself and nobody else!

  7. lowandbhold

    Wow, awesome run! I’ve been running for several months now and have yet to run farther than 4 miles. You’re a rockstar. Like everyon else has said, just be sure to be careful and avoid injury. Sounds like you were born to run though 🙂

  8. balancejoyanddelicias

    Nice run!!! You look so happy at that post-run pic! 🙂
    I’m not a runner so I can’t help!
    Chili sounds delicious! I just boiled some beans to make it too!

  9. Great job on the run! My best suggestion for a beginning runner is just to listen to your body, make sure your shoes are comfortable and laced properly, and just to enjoy yourself!

  10. I love chili that has been simmered, yum!
    My best suggestion for running is to start out slow. It IS addicting, but if you increase your mileage too quickly you are at risk for injuries + burnout. Slow but steady wins the race. And most of all: HAVE FUN!

    xo
    K

  11. Congrats on your run! Exercising always makes me really happy too 🙂

  12. I’m not a runner at all so I identify with your paragraph about going against yourself for running. You did an AWESOME job!! Congrats 🙂 Be proud of yourself, pretty lady!!

  13. Definitely don’t compare yourself to other bloggers–they had to start somewhere, too. Just think about your own personal goals and work on competing against yourself. Congrats on the 5 miler!

  14. Bec

    I love pb on mini pitas! I just try to stick to my own goals and times and have fun doing it.

  15. Lizzy

    Girl i am so proud of you. 5 miles. thats AWESOME!!! In the beginning i always wanted to push myself with milage and time because i thought that was the right thing to do, but seriously just take it day by day, and add on gradually. I never set out on a run with a specific time in mind, all i care about is finishing! 🙂 Good job!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  16. Clearly you are in good shape, so I echo everyone else- don’t get fooled by your fitness and start slow! Stick with that 10 min/mile pace, and don’t try to sneak ahead with distance either!

  17. Girl! You are SO a runner! Great job on the 5 miles- that is awesome. That after run feeling is totally fabulous. Chili does need a good long while to cook to really taste right! Tips for new runners- try training for a race? Find a good plan online and follow it. It will really give your body a great challenge!

  18. Errign

    I do the walk/run thing when I run, so I don’t get burnt out (& cause I suck at running)

    You were one of the gum winners, shoot me your address!

  19. Congrats on your awesome run!

    The chili looks great! I love chili! I need to remeber to make some corn bread (or try one of the corn vitamuffins!) next time I make chili!

Leave a Reply

