Bad Example

Hi!

Is every one having a fantastic weekend? I sure am! The weather is cloudy but it is so cool outside, it feels lovely. Yesterday Hans and I were running around like crazy! We went to the farmer’s market and picked up a few local veggies and then made our big grocery shop at TJ’s. I am trying really hard to stick to our grocery budget and what works for me is to do one big shop per week and try to stay away from the grocery store the other times because if I go for some fruit then I end up buying a few other things too, oops. I’m working on it. Any suggestions?

Anyway, we left for our errands around 11:30 and I wasn’t hungry for lunch yet so I had a vanilla oikos w/1 tbsp musli.

DSC01114

We got back and Hans suggested that we go out to a burger joint for an early dinner around 5, it was already 4 so I munched on an apple to tide me over.

DSC01123

After a little research, we wound up at Big Daddy’s Burger Bar.

DSC01130

I loved this place! The atmosphere was amazing- a quiet street on East Boulevard with beautiful Southern homes all around it. I ordered a small salad with romaine, avocado, tomato, mushrooms and the black bean burger. I took half of the burger off before I ate it, it was huge!!!

DSC01127

Hans ordered the blue cheese burger.

DSC01129

And we shared an order of sweet potato fries. (I ate most of them) The epitome of sweet potato fries, I enjoyed every bite!

DSC01128

Both of us loved this restaurant and we will definitely be coming back!

DSC01126

After dinner, we took a long walk around the area to look at the beautiful homes and day dream about living in one of them. Sigh.. if only. Hey, maybe it would happen someday. We came back home to a night full of old Dexter episodes and a few glasses of wine.

DSC01135

I wouldn’t have it any other way. What a great Saturday! What would make it even better?? Ice cream! We went up to Cold Stone and I ordered peanut butter ice cream with Reese’s. This definitely hit the spot and cured my sweet tooth monster beautifully.

DSC01136

I wasn’t a good example of healthy eating yesterday. I sort of skipped lunch because we were busy, and I ate fries and ice cream. BUT, what I was a good example of is moderation. I didn’t feel overly full. I was satisfied with my decisions and happy about them. No one is perfect. I am just like every one else. 😉 The only difference is that I don’t do this every day and tomorrow I will resume my normal healthy eating habits.

xoxo

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Bad Example

  1. kayteesays

    We all have those days, but I’d say you didn’t get too far off the healthy track. Sweet tooths (teeth?) deserve to be catered to every now and then, right?

  2. I’m a firm believer of eating what you want within moderation so I don’t see anything wrong with your Saturday – in fact, it looks delicious!! Hope you have a great Sunday 🙂

  3. I am also a believer of anything you want within moderation. I love seeing and knowing that other healthy food bloggers are human -we all are human! I love going to a ballgame and getting greasy pizza, or going out and ordering a burger instead of a salad or chicken every once in a while 🙂 I’m a big fan of the 90/10 rule: 90% of the time, healthy, 10% of the time, whatever. I think that all foods have a place in a healthy lifestyle

  4. That burger is ginormous! The food looks amazing!

  5. lowandbhold

    I love that they let you put the burger on a salad! And sweet potato fries are always great!

  6. Errign

    Yum on the black bean burger! And that thing is huge! Wow!

    Don’t sweat the treats, you’re an active girl and you deserve some ice cream with reeses! 🙂

  7. Haleigh, i like the new page set up. We all have those days of eating. That really is a huge burger but it looks so yummy.

  8. No need to justify your eating choices! I would totally go for sweet potato fries, I love anything sweet potato and that burger looks delicious. Do what you feel is right for you!

  9. um, that burger looks amazing! I’m glad you found a veggie burger joint!

  10. What a great blog with beautiful pictures, self-reflection and honesty! I always tell people that I have an organically groovy diet supplemented with junk food. Like you, I strive to have a healthy diet but don’t completely get away from treating myself. I have been in the wellness field for 31 years, and the best comment I ever heard about food was that it was better to eat a doughnut and bless it rather than eat tofu and be cursing it!

Leave a Reply

