It’s been 8 years?

Let’s all take a moment of silence to honor all that was lost on September 11, 2001.

Do you still remember exactly what you were doing that morning? I do. I was 13 years old and I was in my second hour literature class. Another teacher came storming in our classroom and urged us to turn on the tv. I remember it vividly.

*
*
*
*

THURSDAY

Hans and I went out to the trails yesterday afternoon. I got an amazing hike in with lots of steep hills. Love it! For dinner, we had salmon and asparagus. It was a quick and yummy meal. I had been marinating the salmon all day in a mixture of maple syrup, soy sauce, and garlic. I threw it in the oven for about 15 minutes with a side of baked asparagus and voila! dinner is served in a matter of minutes. (That salmon looks huge!! I use small plates)

DSC00977

Truly satisfying meal BUT my sweet tooth was raging!! I was trying to think back to the last time I had something sweet and I couldn’t remember!! We must fix that… I had an awesome low calorie sundae for dessert last night with 1/2 cup Edy’s Caramel Praline Crunch froyo with 1 vitabrownie and PB icing (1/2 tbsp peanut butter thinned out with soy milk) YUM! Good for my taste buds and my waist line. (I use small bowls too :))

DSC00978

FRIDAY

I told ya’ll that I signed up for the gym yesterday. Well, I went to my first class this morning- kickboxing!! It totally kicked my ass. I was nice and sweaty at the end of class which, to me, means a great workout! Before kickboxing, I had 1/2 a banana with almond butter.

DSC00980

Part two of breakfast was thoroughly enjoyed at Starbucks! A grande nonfat latte w/2 pumps pumpkin spice and a mini Pumpkin-Banana-Oat Bran muffin with a side of Perez Hilton.

DSC00981

Ask about a recipe and you shall receive! šŸ™‚ I took inspiration from the back of the oat bran box and went from there.

PUMPKIN-BANANA-OAT BRAN MINI MUFFINS
2 cups Oat Bran
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup vanilla soy milk
1 egg
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 banana
1/2 to 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (I just went by feeling)
1 cup dark chocolate chips

*Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
*Mix dry ingredients in a medium bowl. All the while, mix wet ingredients into another medium bowl. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.
*Pour batter into prepared muffin pan about 3/4 full. I made about 16 mini muffins.
*Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Blogging from Starbucks is so much more fun than blogging from home! Can you believe it’s already Friday? I love 4 day work weeks!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “It’s been 8 years?

  1. The salmon looks beautiful. I have never tried the maple/soy combo but I bet its just fabulous. Hooray starbucks pumpkin spice! I can’t enough!

  2. That is one awesome laptop šŸ˜‰

  3. Your salmon dinner looks great – I love salmon, especially smoked on bagels with cream cheese – YUM!

  4. I was in my 2nd hour literature class, too. I think the TV was on when I got to class and everyone was just silenty staring at it, and no one quite knew what to think, yet we all knew things were changing.

    lol and I always use small plates, and oftentimes forget to clarify that on the blog. I’ll go back and look at an entry and be like “DANG it looks like I had a 12″ pizza! That was just a 4-5″ personal pizza!” LOL.

  5. I know…I still can’t believe it’s been 8 years! Kickboxing is so much fun. I would love to take a class!

  6. Thanks for posting that recipe! Your muffins look absolutely delicious!! Glad you enjoyed the kickboxing class – sounds like a good sweat sesh šŸ™‚

    PS. The clif bar from my post is good! I linked it to my review if you’re interested!

  7. i too remember exactly where i was! and what i was wearing. so sad šŸ˜¦ anyways perez+starbucks+muffin = HEAVEN!!!! those muffins look amazing! can’t wait to try and make them myself!!

  8. Lizzy

    That recipe looks stellar! šŸ™‚

    Great job on the workout this morning, i’ve never taken a group class except for yoga and i would love to do it sometime!

    My vitabrownies are almost gone and i’m not to happy about that, that dessert is AMAZING! šŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  9. thanks for the recipe, it looks so great, i will have to give it a whirl. your ice cream dish is killlling me softly.

  10. lowandbhold

    I can’t believe it’s been 8 years either. I was at a volleyball tourney in another town and just wanted to go home and be with my family.

    The sundae looks awesome šŸ™‚

  11. Errign

    My school has kickboxing but I’ve never gone because I am not terribly coordinated and I am bound to embarrass myself lol

  12. I was in school too when I found out. I remember my English teacher kept taking a break during class to get updates online from her computer.

    That’s one of my favourite kinds of almond butter šŸ˜‰ Love your blog!

  13. I felt the same way this morning, I can’t believe it’s been 8 years. I was 12, my first day of 7th grade. Crazy!

    Your salmon looks awesome, and so does dessert of course! I love making indulgent things that are really healthy!

    Lovin’ the muffin recipe as well! I wish I had a mini muffin tin…

    xo
    K

  14. balancejoyanddelicias

    Salmon looks amazing! you made me want some now. It’s going to be my dinner! šŸ˜€ Thanks for inspire me!

    these little muffins look yummy too, specially with chocolate chips!

  15. April (Foods of April)

    What a perfect muffin!!

    And isn’t kickboxing an awesome workout? I love it!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

