On the hunt

job hunt.. that is. I have been looking for a good job in Charlotte to occupy my time before I start my studies again, and unfortunately I have had no such luck! I have a fantastic job in Tulsa for when Hans is job training in Europe but I would like to find a job here for when we get back to Charlotte. Ah, well.. I think I will probably have to end up signing with a temp agency. Why am I worrying about this when I won’t be in Charlotte until after Christmas? I don’t know.. haha I guess I am just that typical type A personality.

Yesterday was a gloomy day in Charlotte but I am not complaining! I actually enjoy it as a change up from the normal warm and sunny. The cloudy weather reminds of me of Sweden too *which I hated when I lived there. The grass is always greener. I made a batch of my homemade granola bars for Hans yesterday. They smelled so good! I am still tweaking the recipe but I will post it as soon as I think it’s blog ready!

sept 10 001

I had an awesome snack yesterday afternoon before my daily hike. TJ’s pomegranate Greek yogurt with 1 tbsp of Udi’s granola and a few dark chocolate chips for.. ya know, a boost of anti-oxidants, lol.

sept 10 002

I still haven’t been myself these last few days. I don’t know what’s wrong. My tummy has just felt ‘off’. If that makes any sense? This yogurt snack definitely helped a lot. I had a lovely hike yesterday, I missed the rain by about 10 minutes. Sweet!

I had a low key dinner last night of Dakota bread, cottage cheese and avocado slices with a side of okra. I used about 1/2 cup of cottage cheese and 1/2 of an avocado. I find it hilarious that my toppings are thicker than my bread πŸ˜‰

sept 10 004

We were supposed to have one of our Swedish staple dinners last night- toast and shrimp. But, after peeling all that damn shrimp I just couldn’t stomach it.

Zzzzz….

I have been on a pumpkin kick lately! Pumpkin oat bran, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin yogurt and now… pumpkin breakfast cookie!! I think I am just excited to celebrate Halloween!!!

sept 10 006

My cookie contained: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 banana, a few spoonfuls of pumpkin, 1 tsp maple syrup, cinnamon and almond butter. Fav breakfast cookie so far!

And now, I am off to Starbucks for a pumpkin spice latte. Yipppeeee!

Are you dressing up for Halloween? I definitely am after living in Sweden and missing the holiday terribly for 2 years. I just haven’t decided what yet?? Hhmm…

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “On the hunt

  1. Brandi

    ooh, those granola bars look awesome! glad you were able to get out for a hike before the rain hit – the rain came too early for our run, but I’m hoping it holds out today.

    i haven’t dressed up for halloween in a while, but we always hand out candy for the kids in the neighborhood.

  2. April (Foods of April)

    Yay a fellow pumpkin lover!! Haha I think pumpkin goes well in everything!

    And I’m on a job hunt too.. no where is hiring! grr

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  3. I loooovvvve halloween!

    maybe you should go as a breakfast cookie πŸ™‚

  4. I love the idea of a pumpkin bfast cookie! brilliant!

  5. good luck with the job hunt! can’t wait to see what the granola bar recipe is, they look great. i saw a pumpkin bfast cookie on pbjenny’s blog the other day and have been wanting to try it since. sounds so bangin. i LOVE halloween, for sure am dressing up! i was living abroad one halloween and dressed up anyway (i was in wales) i can never miss a halloween! that is so cool you lived in sweden, we were going to pop over there when i was in norway but didn’t find the time. what did you do while living there? i see that it is one of your categories below, perhaps i will go peruse some old posts πŸ˜€

  6. Yes, I love Halloween. I’m crazy about it. I always have a couple parties to attend too, so I buy or make two costumes. Day after halloween, I already have next years outfits planned! ALL SET!!

  7. I don’t think I’ll do a real costume for Halloween this year, maybe just go as a cat or a fairy with stuff I already have.

    I have been thinking about trying a breakfast cookie soon and yours looks particularly delicious.

    Good luck with the job hunt!

  8. balancejoyanddelicias

    I don’t celebrate halloween. can you believe that I’ve never been in a halloween party? 😦 shame on me.

    I like to have more filling for sandwiches than the bread! πŸ˜€ Sometimes, I’d just eat the fillings… ahahha….

  9. Aw feel better! Days where your tum is off always stink! YUM breakfast cookie…love those!! Have a great weekend! And the right job will come to you when the time is right!

  10. Job hunting is always fun, but hard- good luck!!

    And I want to dress up for Halloween but I’m working that night… we’ll see!

    xo
    K

  11. Just watched video of you dressed up as a dead Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. I love Halloween!

  12. Lizzy

    that yogurt with chocolate chips looks amazing!

    I havent tried TJ’s yogurt yet and i’m pretty sure i need to try it! whats your fav flavor?

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. lowandbhold

    I’m totally the same way – I’ve been stressing myself out about where I’m going to live next year, but I can’t move out until the end of December.

    Those granola bars looks great and I love the cottage cheese/avocado toast!

  14. Errign

    I love, love pumpkin. The minute fall-like weather starts I am all about the pumpkin!

    I love Halloween but never dress up anymore! And it totally bums me out that we don’t get trick or treaters at my house!

  15. Jenny

    Best of luck with the job hunt, I know that nowadays, especially, it can be a chore!

    That breakfast cookie looks amazing! I can’t wait to start using pumpkin again πŸ™‚

    I’m definitely dressing up for Halloween! Don’t know what I’ll go as yet though…

  16. Great post…everything looks so tasty. I love your dinner! Simple and delicious. Can’t wait to get that granola bar recipe.

Leave a Reply

