Like a kid again

**I donated a batch of kanelbullar, a swedish fika treat, to The Daily Balance. Help cure breast cancer and go check it out!**

I wasn’t near as sore from our little adventure in the Mountains yesterday as I thought I would be. I thought I wouldn’t be able to get out of bed judging from how tired I was when I got back on Monday. But, surprisingly enough I was hardly sore at all. My body was tired, yes, but not sore. I guess that means that I am getting stronger πŸ™‚ I took the day off from formal exercise yesterday and did a lot of stretching and soft yoga. Just what the doctor ordered because I am feeling great as of right now. Sweet!

I was starving when I woke up yesterday morning. So, nothing sounded better than a big bowl of oats. I initially wanted oatmeal but remembered that I picked up oat bran instead of oatmeal at the store last week. I made 1 serving of oat bran and adding a few spoonfuls of canned pumpkin, 1/2 a banana, 1 tsp maple syrup, cinnamon and almond butter.

mountain biking- 2 007

Way. Too. Filling!!! I couldn’t finish it, again… this happened the last time I made oat bran too so I am thinking I will make 1/2 serving next time.

My breakfast kept me full for hours. I wasn’t the slightest bit hungry until 2 o’clock! And even then, I wasn’t ready for lunch but I knew I needed to eat something so I made a big ol’ green monster with spinach, 1 frozen banana, 1 cup vanilla soymilk, 1 scoop amazing grass and ice. This combo made a lot more than shown below.

sept 9 003

It matches are place mats πŸ™‚ I got bit by the baking bug after lunch yesterday. I noticed that we had a lot of bananas that were on the verge so I made some delicious banana bread using the recipe from this website. I added in some dark chocolate chips and hazelnuts to make the bread my own. It came out smelling wonderful and it looked very moist. I handed it off to Hans to take to his coworkers so we’ll see how they liked it today.

sept 9 002

And then I got hit with a horrible stomach ache. It only lasted a few hours but it was excrutiating. I finally felt good enough to eat a little something around 5.

sept 9 004

All the nectarines from the huge cargo box from TJ’s is gone now 😦 For dinner, I wanted something simple. When I was growing up, me and my little brother ate fish sticks. All. The. Time. It was a staple for us, haha… of course, they were probably about 10% fish and about 90% crappy stuff but still, we loved them. So you can imagine my surprise when I found some at TJ’s with a moderate ingrediant list. No nasty stuff. Last night was the perfect time to give them a try since I wasn’t feeling that great and wanted to be a little kid again with the comfort of mommy and fish sticks.

sept 9 006

I baked them in the oven for about 20 minutes. They were actually really good and surprise, surprise!! tasted like fish. Unlike the fish sticks of my childhood. I think next time I will add a little spices to them to make them even tastier.

I had some baked okra on the side with ketchup. Classy dinner, indeed.

sept 9 007

Now, I know that I didn’t eat enough yesterday but I am not a calorie counter. I used to count calories and it made me insane and often times I would have a cookie not because I wanted one but because I had calories to use up. This method is not for me. I go by my hunger levels. I eat when I am hungry notΒ  because the clock tells me to eat. I wasn’t feeling that great yesterday and I felt completely stuffed after breakfast until this morning. I try to listen to my body and my body didn’t want much food so that’s how it is.

Do you count calories or do you go by feeling?

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Like a kid again

  1. That banana bread looks legit good! I love when there are banana slices on top. I don’t count calories, but have the amount in mind when making something. I prefer oatbran to oatmeal because it combines with the protein powder I add to it much better.
    Have a great day my dear!!!

  2. I counted until I got over the restrictive eating mentality, but I stopped for the same reason you did! It’s so nice to be in tune with my hunger, and not be scared of eating more or less than I did the day before πŸ™‚

  3. I definitely try to go by feeling, although some days (i.e. my “hormonal” days recently) I really crave sweets – I’m thinking it’s those days that I should calorie count my sweets, just to make sure I don’t unknowingly completely over-do it with sweets.

  4. that banana bread looks way to good to be true. its my fav bread ever! enjoy eating it!

    calories? i dont realy count, but I roughly estimate to make sure I am getting enough for my active lifestyle…if i went by cues, I d eat every hour LOL because I always think I am hungry.

    xoxo
    Lo

  5. I tried rtocount calories and it just didn’t work! I go my feeling and maintain 3 meals and at least 1 or 2 healthy snacks a day. I miss fish stick, I grew up eating those all the time. I need to see if i can find some healthy brands!

  6. I tried to count calories and it just didn’t work! I go by what I’m feeling and maintain 3 meals and at least 1 or 2 healthy snacks a day. I miss fish sticks, I grew up eating those all the time. I need to see if i can find some healthy brands!

  7. Fish sticks and tater tots were a combination from my childhood – I loved that meal too πŸ˜‰

    Your bread looks good and I really need to try oat bran out!

  8. That banana bread looks great! Sorry about your stomach ache… I’m glad you’re feeling better though =)

    I go by hunger cues… no calorie counting for me! I got wayyy too obessive when I did.

    xo
    K

  9. kayteesays

    I go by feelings, but sometimes I feel like I can’t really rely on my judgment. I still eat way too much.

    And now I am craving fish sticks like you wouldn’t believe.

  10. Sigh. I wish I could say that I eat intuitively and don’t count calories at all. But I do have a little calorie ticker in the back of my head, which is ridiculous because I know I eat (and rightfully so) more than that without realizing because I can’t crunch the numbers. I need a lot more calories than I give myself credit for. I totally eat a cookie because I have more calorie allotment to do so, and thanks for the reminder that I should think otherwise!

  11. I definitely TRY to follow my stomach, but It’s hard to at work because eating in my cubicle is so distracting to those around me, i’m forced to eat at a certain time every day. 😦 BOO. However, I’m definitely no calorie counter that’s for SURE!

  12. I agree about the counting – going by feeling is better simply because each day is different! Somedays I’m hungry all day long, and some days, I might not feel good or my meals fill me up so that I don’t need snacks.

    that banana bread looks awesome!

  13. that bread looks fabulous! so does the okra – unfortunately, there isn’t much okra in the midwest πŸ™‚

  14. I went from calorie counting (8 years ago) to stick to time schedule to eat (last 3-4 years) until nowadays I pretty much eat intuitively, eat whatever I crave, stop when I’m full or satisfied and eat mostly when I’m hungry.
    I feel much better this way. πŸ™‚

  15. That bread looks awesome! I used to count calories in a food journal…took up WAY too much time though. Now I try to eat intuitively, but I generally know how much I’ve had each day.

  16. I try my best to go by feeling, which really never leads me astray if I actually listen to my gut. I try to make healthy decisions 80-90% of the time and love indulgences.

  17. lowandbhold

    Sorry about the stomach ache. And I really need to try oat bran if it’s that filling! Glad you’re not sore πŸ™‚

    I just stopped counting a few months ago. It was too much work!

  18. good to hear you are getting stronger! i love the polka dot place mats. and the healthy version of fish sticks. i too ate those all the time growing up!

  19. I’m trying to go by feeling, but keeping an informal calorie tally because I can’t stand not having some idea. This is a pretty new approach for me, and it is working ok so far. I’ve been too obsessive with counting in the past, and I’m trying to use the calories as a more informal tool rather than a strict guideline for what I must and must not eat. I’m not logging food into a fancy detailed spreadsheet, and that, in itself, is a big change. We’ll see how it progresses!

    I’m glad you are feeling better! I love the banana slices on top of the bread. So pretty!

  20. I never thought of oatbran for breakfast!

    I don’t count, but on days where I know I need a lot, I try to keep an idea in my head. Mostly, I can listen to my body, but there are some times (i.e. before and after intense exercise) that my mind has to be king!

    I sometimes find that soreness doesn’t hit until 2 days later! But I don’t get as sore from MTB as from running or road cycling.

Leave a Reply

