An amazing adventure

When Hans asked me a week ago if I wanted to go mountain biking up in the Carolina mountains on Labor Day weekend, I was a bit hesitant. But, I knew that he really wanted to go so I told myself that I would give it a try. We went biking through the Dupont State Forest. This place is HUGE! We had to bike for about 3 miles just to find the mountain biking trails. We ended up being out in the mountain trails for 6 hours!! with our lunch break and rest stops we probably were biking for about 5 hours. Insane! I know… I haven’t calculated the mileage yet but I will. Instead of blabbering on about the crazy experience, I will let the photos do the talking.

Notice how dark it is outside! We got there pretty early.

mountain biking 006

mountain biking 003

mountain biking 009

mountain biking 008

mountain biking 013

mountain biking 019

mountain biking 026

mountain biking 028

I was sooo tired at this point.

mountain biking 027

Beautiful.

mountain biking 031

Mountain biking was a lot of fun but it was also the hardest thing that I have done since I was gymnast/cheerleader. I pushed my body further than I have in a very long time, and it felt amazing. The first half went pretty well but by the end I was exhausted, my legs were killing me and I was starving but I managed and I made it!! Despite a few tears. I am not educated in fueling myself through this much exercise but I tried my best.

We left very early and I wasn’t hungry in the slightest so I had a nectarine and a white chocolate macademia nut clif bar in the car ride there. (First mistake, I should have had a better breakfast)

mountain biking- 2 001

mountain biking- 2 002

We started out in the trails a little before 9 o’clock. The first 2 hours were so much fun!! Not hard at all and a lot of goofing around with Hans.

mountain biking 007

Around 11 o’clock we stopped at a waterfall for a scenic snack break. I had a banana.

mountain biking 018

After this, it started getting difficult. We were biking uphill for about 2 hours!!! It was hard to say the least. I had to get off my bike a few times and walk. Throughout the bike ride, I had 4 clif shots for a boost of energy. I needed it!!

mountain biking 022

More uphill biking. This is where the crying came in. My body had had enough but I kept pushing through until finally we made it to our lunch spot on a beautiful lake around 1:30. I had two slices of dakota bread with almond butter. I don’t think this meal could have ever tasted better than at that moment.

mountain biking 025

We rested for a good 30 minutes and set off to finish the damn thing! And we did!!! We got back to our car at about 3 o’clock. I was so proud of myself!! We packed up all our stuff and headed back to Charlotte. I stopped at a gas station and picked up a peanut butter granola bar.

mountain biking- 2 003

And then the unexpected hunger struck. I was so hungry!! We made it back to Charlotte around 5:30 and I immediately ate a nectarine.

mountain biking- 2 004

and a handful of PB pretzels.

mountain biking- 2 005

I did not like being this hungry at all. It made me irritable and light headed. All I wanted for dinner was a HUGE sandwich. I don’t know why that is just what I was craving. We headed over to Panera to find out that they close early for Labor Day which made me even more irritable. I was trying to control myself but it was so hard with the way I was feeling. We found a Jimmy John’s close by and I got a turkey sammie on whole wheat with provolone, avocado spread, tomato, sprouts, lettuce and mustard.

mountain biking- 2 006

Meh. It was no Panera but at least I wasn’t hungry anymore.

Yesterday was so much fun!!! But also, very tiring… my eyes started to droop at 8 o’clock but I managed to stay awake until 9:30 and then I was out until 7 this morning! Almost 10 hours of sleep.. woah!

I am going to catch up on my google reader.. it’s overflowing! Hope every one had a fantastic long weekend! xoxo

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “An amazing adventure

  1. So glad you and the hubs had a good time! It was so fun chatting with you Sunday. We must hang out again soon! πŸ˜€ Have a good Tuesday!

  2. Vani

    gorgeous scenery!!! I agree – I am an angry monster when I’m not properly fueled πŸ™‚

  3. wow that is an amazing adventure indeed! i love the photo of you plowing through the water, and that tree is gnarly!

  4. Beautiful scenery. It looks like you had a tough but fun ride. I wish I lived around mountains and hills. Texas is kinda flat lol. I’m glad to hear you refueled!

  5. This looks SO fun, but I can definitely see why you got really hungry! Mountain biking is hard work (esp. the actual mountains!!)

  6. I love the pink!! Way to go with the biking and sticking with it!! Be proud of yourself because that doesn’t look or sound easy!

  7. That roadbike ride looks amazing!!! I love waterfalls and great scenery! Whenever I don’t eat a big breakfast before a great adventure like that I turn into a never ending snack monster. Great job mountain biking though!!!

  8. it’s beautiful there!

    I have tried mountain biking, and I am just not good on things with wheels πŸ™‚ but I love hiking!

    sounds like you guys had a fun day.

  9. Sounds like an awesome adventure!! πŸ™‚

  10. lowandbhold

    Wow that sounds really intense! That’s awesome that you completed it. Sorry about Panera being closed 😦

  11. Wow, looks like a great time! You have some great pics too, glad you had a fun weekend!

    xo
    K

  12. WOW! Good work!

    I love mountain biking- so challenging and so satisfying.

  13. Your ride was so pretty and nice work for toughing it out! Sorry about Panera! Why would they close early?

  14. WOW! What an incredible day- I’m totally jealous. Not only gorgeous, but what a workout! Glad you decided to go πŸ™‚

  15. Beautiful photos!!! I did a 30 mile bike trek on Saturday, and I definitely know what you mean about pushing yourself. It was my longest ride ever, and I was so tired by the time I got home. The best motivating factor for me to keep going was the fact that riding back was my only ticket back to a hot bath. AAAaaaah.

    That is my favorite Clif bar, and I’m having a little fling with PB stuffed pretzels lately. You are a woman after my own heart. πŸ™‚

    Good for you for sticking it out. Yay!!!

  16. Bec

    wow what a great ride, it looks like a blast!

  17. Pingback: Like a kid again « Inner Wellness

  18. Lizzy

    your bike ride looked like such a success! beautiful scenery! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

