Manly Meal

Labor Day weekend is finally here! I am so excited to actually spend some good quality time with my hubby this weekend šŸ™‚ To congratulate Hans for putting up with all of my veggies all the time I cooked him a super manly meal for dinner last night. He loved it to say the least.

I saw European-type potatoes at TJ’s the other day and knew that I had to make them for Hans. To go with the potatoes, I bought some apple almond stuffed pork chops, also from TJ’s. To cook the meat, I seared it in the skillet and then baked it in the oven for 30 minutes.

9-5 001

I made the potatoes the way that they are most often eaten in Sweden, boiled. To fill the veggie department, I made some broccoli.

9-5 002

For the sauce, I took the leftover juices in the skillet and added some chicken broth, heavy cream and a squirt of honey. The sauce turned out amazing! This is the first sauce that I have made that came out successful! Yiipeeee!

Of course, I had a wonderful glass of zinfandel to accompany my manly viking meal.

9-5 004

Why am I posting that scary photo on the internet? Aahhh, well.. who cares, lol.

The rest of the night consisted of snuggling up with my hubby and watching a movie. In honor of cookie Friday yesterday, I had a chocolate chip cookie from earth fare for dessert.

9-5 005

Some of you were asking me how the Swedes eat and from my experiences, it’s almost exactly like the dinner we ate tonight. They use full fat everything- butter, cream, yogurt, etc. A good meal brings pleasure not guilt and they don’t deprive themselves but they don’t stuff themselves either. It took me TWO years to be able to cook with full fat food because I was scared of it but now I am happy to say that I do and I will continue to do so.

Zzzzz…. Breakfast this morning was a yogurt mess with plain greek yogurt, 1/2 cup kashi good friends cereal, 2 tbsp udi’s granola, 1/2 honest foods bar and 1 banana. I love the different tastes and textures with every bite!

9-5 006

I swear there is yogurt and a banana under there somewhere, hehe.

We have a lot of errands to run today!!! Gotta get going! xoxo

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Manly Meal

  1. I love boiled potatoes!! You did a great job on the meal – looks fantastic!

    Good luck with your errands – enjoy your weekend šŸ™‚

  2. Aren’t boiled potatoes awesome? It looks like a tasty dinner – I love eating boiled potatoes with a pinch of salt and veggies on the side – they’re so simple and so delicious at the same time šŸ™‚

  3. What a fun night with the hubs! Sounds lovely šŸ™‚

    Have a great Saturday!!

  4. lowandbhold

    That meal looked totally gourmet! Have fun hangin with your man!!

  5. Errign

    I love boiled potatoes…and broccoli…and pork chops..lol.

    Have a great LD weekend!

Leave a Reply

