Savory Bread Pudding

Happy Humpday! I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already, time sure does fly.

Yesterday Hans and I had a short 30 min bike ride in the trails. I am getting more confident with my skills and can finally go over some of the jumps 🙂 woo hoo, they may be small but I am working my way up!

When I was back in Tulsa visiting family, I came across this recipe for savory bread pudding and it immediately struck my interest. I didn’t stick to the recipe but I got the general idea from it.

First, I cut up slices of Great Harvest Dakota bread, drizzled them with olive oil, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder and stuck them in the oven for about 10 minutes to toast them.

sept 2 001

I used shallots instead of a red onion and I sauteed them together with sliced zucchini until soft, about 5 minutes and seasoned with salt+pepper.

savory bread pudding 001

Then I added 1/4 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup of heavy cream, and let it simmer until the sauce got thick. I sliced the tomatoes and then started layering into a small casserole dish.

First layer- half of the toast, sprinkle of gruyère cheese. Second layer- zucchini mixture+S&P. Third layer- sliced tomatoes+S&P and garlic powder.

savory bread pudding 002

Repeat and then sprinkle gruyère on the top and pour 1/4 cup chicken broth over the bread pudding and drizzle with olive oil. Bake in the oven about 45 minutes.

savory bread pudding 003

I prepared this entire dish in the afternoon so that when Hans and I came back from mountain biking, I could just warm it up in the oven.

sept 2 002

When I saw this recipe, I knew I would either love it or hate it.

sept 2 005

The verdict? I really liked it but I didn’t love it. This dish gave summer one last hoorah with the tomatoes and the zucchini but the star of this meal was definitely the yummy Dakota bread. Good thing we have plenty of leftovers.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Savory Bread Pudding

  1. Lizzy

    All those ingredients look amazing together! I’m sure the flavors were amazing

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. Looks good. I really like dished with tomatoes. Mybe you can play around and change the dish to your liking.

  3. I’ve never had bread pudding (sweet or savory) but it sounds like it would be delicious!

  4. Mmm bread and cheese….Looks like a really great innovation of a recipe!

  5. Oh wow that looks amazing! Gotta love some melted cheese, haha.

  6. lowandbhold

    That’s a great idea! Sorry you didn’t love it though.

  7. Errign

    That is one very interesting dish! Glad it turned out ok for ya!

Leave a Reply

