Keep my brother in your thoughts

My mom called me this morning and told me that my little brother broke his thumb playing basketball last night, and they were at the emergency room until about midnight. She told me that he was in a lot of pain and unfortunately, he may have to have surgery because he broke the same thumb a few years ago and it never healed properly. So, I just ask that you send good karma and positive vibes over to my little brother today.

I have been cleaning and doing laundry up a storm today! Dang, there is always so much to do once you get back from a long trip. I don’t think that I let my back heal enough from all the traveling and painting last week because it is really hurting me today after a few loads of laundry and some surface cleaning. Not good.

For lunch today, I was craving something light so I made myself a spinach salad with nectarines, a medjool date and some goat cheese dressed with balsamic vinegar. This salad was delish! The sweetness of the date surprised my taste buds.. yum yum.

aug 31- 2 002

I love me some dirty tv. I caught up with my fav shows. True Blood+Hung. Obsessed with True Blood, no doubt about it.

I rummaged through my cabinets to find an afternoon snack and I found this bar that was lost in the back. The ingredient list was pretty short and sweet. Also, it is all natural and organic with dates, raisins, cashews, apples, raspberries, chia seeds, organic flavor??, and lemon juice concentrate. So, this bar looks good on paper but how is the taste?

aug 31- 2 003

It was very sticky and I had to immediately wash my hands but it was flavorful as well. I enjoyed it.

aug 31- 2 004

Hans and I have a fun baking project planned for tonight!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Keep my brother in your thoughts

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. I’ve broken fingers more than once, never a thumb, but I know it can be very hard. We depend on our hands so much!

    On a much happier note, your salad looks deeelicious.

  2. Aw – I’m sorry to hear about your brother’s thumb! Hope it doesn’t require surgery!!

    Hung is filmed on my friends lake! Can’t wait to see your baking project 🙂

  3. Lizzy

    Aw i’m sorry to hear that! I hope he bounces back fast!!!! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. lowandbhold

    Good to know that bar tastes good. I had the Goji Moji one and didn’t like it.

    I will definitely keep your bro in my thoughts, ouch!

    And I hope your back gets better soon!!

  5. Errign

    I’ll keep your brother in my thoughts, hope his thumb heals up properly and quickly!

    That bar does look very sticky!

  6. Aww! poor guy- i hope he heals very quickly!

  7. Bri

    I’m so freaking stoked i found your blog! You live in sweden, i really want to go there one day. Random question but have you heard of the swedish blogger blondinbella…? can’t wait to keep reading your blog =)

  8. Bri

    i got to excited and realized you headed back to north carolina haha but still living in sweden= awesome!

  9. I love salads with fruit, great dessert too. I need to try the Pure fruit/ nut Bars…I hear they are good.

Leave a Reply

