Tzatziki and chocolate

Hi!

My Saturday has been pretty low key. It was exactly what we needed after a tiring day of traveling yesterday. I was so tired after biking and living off of minimal sleep the past few nights. So, due to tiredness and laziness, I will let the photos speak for themselves.

Afternoon snack was one of my homemade granola bars. I have seriously been  hungry nonstop today after my long bike ride.

aug 29-2 003

For dinner, we made chicken with tzatziki and okra. For the tzatziki, I shredded 1/2 a cucumer this morning and set it out to drain the water. About 2 hours before dinner, I added 2% greek yogurt, 5 cloves of garlic and a pinch of salt. I let the sauce sit together for awhile, the flavors become more intense. Hello garlic!

aug 29-2 005

Hans marinated the chicken with his mom’s recipe. He didn’t measure anything but the recipe was something like this:  rapsolja, soy sauce, a little balsamic vinegar, garlic and salt and pepper. Hans sauteed the chicken in the skillet while I prepared the okra. Just a dash of oil, seasoned with salt and pepper, and bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. I loved okra when I was younger, it was the only vegetable that would touch my mouth. I forgot how much I enjoyed it!! Of course, dinner was served with a spicy glass of zinfandel. An international meal with an American touch 🙂 The perfect Saturday night dinner to enjoy with Hans.

aug 29-2 004

Ya wanna know the best part of Hans going to Germany? European candy!!! (Swedish is the best but German will do) Mmmm, every one who knows me knows that they should hide their candy when  Haleigh is around. 😉

There is always room in a healthy lifestyle for a little pleasure, and my indulgence of choice is candy. Of course, I love to bake but when I do indulge you can bet it’s on the candy.

aug 29-2 002

We ate our candy while watching the wedding singer on tv. So glad to be back home! Gotta get to bed pretty early tonight so we can head out for a bike ride in the morning! Good night!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Tzatziki and chocolate

  1. What a fun dinner – love the homemade tzaziki!

  2. Mmm your homemade tzatziki sounds amazing! And I’d really like to try eating okra that way, looks good 🙂

  3. I have a fondness for German candy, my German teacher used to give us candy all the time – Gummy bears, Reisen, yum!

  4. lowandbhold

    I love candy too! Great dinner. Glad you’re having a good weekend.

  5. Errign

    I agree, European candy is the best!

Leave a Reply

