Oatmeal does it again

Good morning! I hope every one’s Wednesday is off to a great start! Mine sure is. I am coming around and finally starting to look on the bright side again, this year has been pretty tough for me- moving from Sweden to the US, moving to Charlotte, figuring out school stuff, dealing with my husband traveling all the time, but it is a transition period in my life and I will get to where I want to be, with time.

Let’s back track to last night. My mom is the queen of healthifying Mexican food, she also loves anything and everything Mexican. So, with that said.. I can’t take any credit for this recipe because she came up with it. The woman is good!

Spread 2 tortillas with nonfat refried beans and sprinkle with cheese. Stick in the oven for about 10 min at 375. They should look like this.

aug 26 001

Top with lettuce, tomatoes and in my case… loads of guacamole and salsa.

aug 26 002

A mini Mexican feast.

I have been repainting my mom’s bedroom since I have been home and yesterday the inevitable happened. I hurt my back. Let me give you a little history about my back problems. I used to be a gymnast and a cheerleader starting at age 4 until I was 18. Yeah, not good for your back. I have had problems with it on and off since I quit but last night I was in some major pain. I hate taking painkillers but I had to give in and take some aleve. Oh well, at least it feels better today.

Good enough to go for a run this morning! I am not a runner. I simply just cannot run. I was the one in gym class whose entire outfit was pink and perfectly coordinated with a huge bow on the top of my head… and I was always last. I have an on and off relationship with running. Sometimes I love it and sometimes I hate it. This morning, we were in love. I went for a short 3 mile run using the galloway method- run 2 minutes, walk 1 minute. It works for me. When I got back from my sweat session, I could not get the door open! It was jammed shut! Ah, mini panic attack… finally after about 10 minutes, I got it open and was greeted with this little guy.

aug 26 004

Snickers the weiner, as I like to call him. I want to take him home with me to Charlotte. Yeah, that’ll never happen.. he’s my mom’s boyfriend.

I did a short strength routine after my run. 25 bicycle crunches, 25 reverse crunches, 10 push ups and 2 30 second planks.

I got inspiration from Caitlin this morning for breakfast. I decided on coffee induced oatmeal. But, I took it up a notch and used this to sweeten it up instead of brown sugar. Yes, I add creamer to my coffee. Don’t hate. I’m not perfect πŸ˜‰

aug 26 003

Oh. My…. it made the oatmeal so creamy and flavorful. In the words of Rachael Ray, Yum-O.. yeah, she gets on my nerves too. But, you gotta admit her show is addicting.

1/2 cup oatmeal+1/2 banana+1/2 cup coffee+1 tbsp coffee creamer=one delicious bowl of oats.

Topped with a spoonful of almond butter, obviously. Does oatmeal ever photograph well?

aug 26 005

Off to talk to my hubby on skype!

xoxo

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Oatmeal does it again

  1. great idea with the oatmeal! I need to try this coffee oatmeal soon.

  2. Aww I love Dachshunds, we have one that’s 12 years old. πŸ™‚

  3. That mini-Mexi-feast looks REALLY good! Snickers is a cutie pie!! As a coffee fanatic, I need to put coffee in my oats – that sounds amazing.

    Hope your back feels better!

  4. Love Mexican feasts + love the Galloway method. πŸ™‚

    So glad you found my blog, which led me to find yours!! Can’t wait to read more, your experience in Sweden sounds wonderful – love how aware you became of yourself and your own “inner wellness”. πŸ™‚

  5. i LOVE that idea of adding that creamer to the oatmeal – fabulous! especially since they have all those fun flavors now! mmmmmm!

    good luck with the back issues!

  6. Those look like some tasty tostadas! Nice!

    Oatmeal never looks good photographed. Soup, I’ve learned, doesn’t look too nice either…

  7. lowandbhold

    I have a love/hate relationship with running too. Glad you had a good one.

    That Mexican fiesta looks so awesome!

Leave a Reply

