Sophisticated Date Night!

I thought I would switch up the posting a bit on inner wellness. So, as most of my readers are beautiful women.. I thought I would give you a little insight into my “routine.” So here is my step by step beauty regime for a big night out. Hans and I have been planning a sophisticated evening so that we could spend some quality time together before he leaves for Germany. So, here goes!

The day before “date night”

I wash my face at least once a day- usually at night. However, when I know that I am going out somewhere, I am vigilant about washing my face in the morning and at night. No break outs or uneven skin, in sight. Here are the products that I use.

I used to use strong acne face wash, that would seriously bleach the hand towels I used. I quit using it a few months ago and my skin is clearer than before and a lot less dried out. I love Burt’s Bee’s products, my skin has honestly never looked better since I started to use it. And some products are 100% natural with all products I use at least 97%.

aug 14 016

I make sure to drink plenty of water and green smoothies before an event.

aug 14 019

aug 14 017

It’s always fun to have a day of beauty- I painted my nails a posh orange.

aug 14 020

I adore natural-looking make up. I have a few somewhat expensive essentials that I use every day but I also have some fun cheap make up that I use when I go out. Here are my essentials.

Chanel powder, Mac eyeshadow, Clinique bronzer, Bobbi Brown blush and no name blue eyeliner. I love blue eyeliner- it really makes my eyes pop without being too dramatic.

make up 001

The final product.

make up 002

The whole outfit.

bebe dress 002

Hans wanted to pick the restaurant, he always wants ribs so he decided on Red Rocks Cafe. Red Rocks was located in a beautiful area of Charlotte- although a bit hidden and you would never miraculously find it was there unless you knew about the restaurant. We started out with a caprese salad to share. Never a bad dish in my book.

I had 1 slice of mozzarella and half of the tomatoes. Yum, love summer tomatoes!! They pack in so much flavor! Add a hint of basil and balsamic- and they compliment each other perfectly.

aug 16 002

For my main entree, I had the chicken marsala- three medallions of chicken breast, lightly dusted in seasoned flour, sauteed with roma tomatoes, Marsala wine and sliced portabello mushrooms, served with wild rice and steamed vegetables. I asked for double veggies instead of the rice. Anything with wine, mushrooms and chicken is good in my book- but it wasn’t as good as it should have been for the price. It didn’t ‘wow’ me. Of course, I enjoyed my meal with a glass of Chianti.

I ate most of the veggies and a few bites of chicken. *Sorry for the horrible lighting, it was super dark in the restaurant.

aug 16 004

Hans and I wanted to share a dessert, so we asked the waiter what the restaurant favorite was and he suggested the chocolate cake. Hearing the word ‘chocolate’ made me 100% okay with that. This cake was literally the size of my head.

aug 16 005

Reaching for the fork already, haha..

Way. Too. Sweet!!!! And coming from me, a pure chocolate lover, that is saying a lot. It was not that great. I was disappointed. Oh well, I had a lovely time spending quality time with my hubby before he jetted out to Germany for work šŸ™‚

My main goal with an indulgent 3 course meal is to pace myself. I take little bites of everything and make sure to taste the food. I left the restaurant feeling satisfied but not entirely full.

xoxo

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Sophisticated Date Night!

  1. I love the completed look! Great date night…your man done good!

  2. Bahahahaha that cake is HUGE! It really is the size of your head (not that your head is huge, but you know what I mean *lol*). Ugh I hate it when chocolate cake isn’t done well – it’s a lot harder then most people/restaurants/cafes seems to think. I think they often use not the best quality choc and they use glucose syrup for some reason – yuck! I don’t buy chocolate anything out of the door, unless I really know it’ll be good.

    You look really cute!

  3. How cute are you, getting all ready for date night?! When we go, it’s a big deal that I shave and put on mascara šŸ˜‰ What a fun night. Your outfit is fabulous!

  4. This is such a fun post! I want to try those burt’s bees products. I’ve heard SO many good things about them. You ended up looking totally adorable and what a yummy dinner! Tomato and Moz salad is one of my favorites

  5. I love Burt’s Bees! That slice of cake is a mile high – love it!!

  6. Haleigh, you are gorgeous! šŸ™‚ Burts Bees products also smell so good! I love your dress! Sounds like you had a great last night with your hubby; you two deserved it!

  7. lowandbhold

    Thanks for the tips! You looked great. Still loving that dress!

  8. Priyanka

    You look so pretty!

    Thanks for all those lovely tips, I am going to invest in some good Burt’s bee products too!

  9. loved looking at your products u use and love šŸ™‚ thanks for the review on burts bees products, i have a few but no face products. my sister uses the same toner though adn loves it!

Leave a Reply

