I need more of an edge.

Good evening lovely ladies! I hope that your week is going well. Mine is fabulous! Perfect, hot summer weather and Hans being in town makes me a very happy girl! I haven’t had a breakfast cookie in a few months so I decided that this morning I would bring the cookie back to the breakfast cycle. Last night, I mixed 1/2 cup oats, 1 tsp maple syrup, a butt load of cinnamon, 1 tsp cocoa, 1/2 a banana and some soy milk… left in the fridge over night. And when I woke up this morning, I added a thin layer of almond butter to the top, why haven’t I made this in awhile? It is fun to eat and keeps me satisfied all morning long.. with 8 grams of protein and 10 grams of fiber, it should!

aug 11 003

30 Day Shred Level 2 + yoga download after brekkie.

I was a total bum all morning and watched Food Network, but I applied to be a docent at the art museum, hopefully I will get a call soon!

For lunch, I was craving a turkey sandwich after avoiding meat for a month.

aug 11 lunch 001

Two slices of Arnold’s 100% whole wheat bread w/guacamole, light mayo, turkey slices, spinach and sprouts and a random tomato slice on the side. I love the combination of deli turkey and guacamole.

aug 11 lunch 002

The afternoon consisted primarily of this.

aug 11 001

Haleigh+no make up+the sun=awkward photo

When you have a man in the house, there is hardly any food that lasts more than a few days. I made some granola bars last week and they are already gone! So, I switched em up a bit and made some more.

granola bars 002

I had one for my afternoon snack, yum.

It was still too hot in Charlotte around 6 to go mountain biking, so we decided on an early dinner, which was quick and simple. I coated 2 chicken breast in an herb stock and then italian seasoned bread crumbs and baked them in the oven for 45 minutes.

aug 11 dinner 004

Hans and I shared the side of broccoli (I ate most of it)

aug 11 dinner 005

After dinner, we hit the trails for a bike ride in the forest.

I had the best ride since I started biking. I have endurance so I love going uphill but I am quite scared of going downhill but I conquered my fears today!!! Hans even gave me a compliment on my biking skills and he is almost a pro 😉 We had time for a little photo shoot mid ride (haha Hans wanted me to take a photo of a jump)

biking 002

We just got back home and I can’t stop thinking about wearing my new dress soon. I think I like these shoes with it better than the red ones, it gives it more of an edge- I kind of need that, I have always been the nice girl. (Sorry, I couldn’t get a good photo)

aug 11 dinner 003

Time for Hell’s Kitchen!
xoxo

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “I need more of an edge.

  1. How nice to go biking after dinner! I’ve been trying to walk more after dinner, but biking also seems really relaxing!
    Love that book!! Can’t wait for the movie to come out on Friday!

  2. That sounds like a great day! A breakfast cookie, sunning and READING (!!) by the pool, a bike ride, a cute dress, and a tasty dinner…with your hubby? Perfecto 🙂 I like those shoes with the dress too!

  3. Now that I’m on the oat train I really need to try the breakfast cookie!

    Any day including sun bathing and biking sounds like a great day to me!

  4. lowandbhold

    Sounds like an awesome bike ride! I love adding red shoes to a grey or black dress. Gives it so much personality.

  5. That cookie looks amazing!

  6. Sorry I haven’t been by to comment in so long! I just scrolled through your posts here and it looks like you are doing good! 🙂 Loving the biking shot of you, you look fabulous! And the new dress is supah cute! I just read The Time Traveler’s Wife, it was so good! 🙂 xx

  7. Seriously, check out my Me MEal giveaway and enter your BEST breakfast cookie just email me the recipe with a photo…how did you come up with the high protein?? And I love your granola bar picture…want to trade?

  8. aww you look SOOO pretty girl! such a natural beauty!! 🙂

    those granola bars you make look sooo good! and thank you for reminding me i need to try a bfast cookie!! would you mind telling me how you do it– i never seem to get it right!!!

    have a great day 🙂 xoxox

  9. I love biking after dinner!!! I wish I had a bike, then I could do that too 🙂 I love your blog – I recently discovered it. It’s adorable!

  10. Thanks for the green monster smoothie suggestion! I am going to try your’s tomorrow 🙂
    We will see how it goes

Leave a Reply

