Tomato & Mozzarella

such a perfect combination! I was first introduced to the pair last summer when I lived in Sweden. Hans’ mom invited us to dinner and picked fresh tomatoes and basil to be used in the simple Insalata Caprese. The salad is bursting with fresh flavors and the basil really puts the salad over the edge, it is delicious. This weekend, I went over to my dad’s for dinner on the grill. My dad is the grill master, and he prepared some asparagus and mushrooms with shrimp. I wanted to add a little extra to the meal so I ran up to the store to create an Insalata Caprese. The recipe is as follows:

Cut up a tomato into large slices. Arrange on a plate, then add slices of mozzarella on top of the tomato. Add some olive oil, a dash of balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper. Garnish with fresh basil. The basil is what makes this salad, for real.. you can’t make this salad without basil.

Grilled asparagus and mushrooms with shrimp and Insalata Caprese:

07-12 003

Last night I had some leftovers so I decided to create an Insalata Caprese open-faced sandwich. I spread a 100% whole wheat bagel with a thin layer of garlic hummus, then I added the Insalata Caprese on top of the bagel. Yum, It was divine!!

07-12 001

I got my hair done today!! I absolutely love it!! I got all over color with highlights and a much needed haircut. I haven’t had highlights done for a year and a half and hadn’t had it cut since November, it looked absolutely horrible! Now, I feel like a whole new woman with much more confidence! It is crazy what something as small as a new haircut will do to you!

The haircut:

07-12 002

The highlights:

07-12 004

*Ignore the bra shot, haha… 🙂 Classy Haleigh.

07-12 005

Have a fabulous evening!

*XOXO

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Tomato & Mozzarella

  1. Bec

    mmm I love this salad its such a summer thing!

  2. Hi Haleigh! Thank you for commentint on my blog 🙂 Your hair looks great! I don’t know what it looked like before, but it looks positively fabulous now. The highlights are natural and not too harsh.

  3. lovin the new do girlie!! especially the highlights!

  4. I love caprese! In Italy their ‘street food’ vendors would sell pressed caprese sandwiches – heaven! I had at least one a day 😉

    LOVE the new ‘do! It looks great!

  5. lowandbhold

    Great haircut! I love caprese sandwiches! So refreshing!

  6. LOVE your hair! the highlights look soo good! and girl you are GORGEOUS!!!!

    LOVE shrimp and caprese sammies 🙂 oh how i miss italy!
    xoxoxox j

  7. Oh wow your hair looks amaaaaazing! It’s so lush! The bra pic is cool, hehe. I love tom+mozz, very good indeed. For parties I make the mini version: take a cocktail stick, slide half a cherry tomato onto it, then a basil leaf, then some mozz, and then the other half of the cherry tomato. They look cute and are quite healthy.

  8. Love, love, love the hair! We used to make tomato+mozarella ALL the time as a salad/starter at dinner. It’s supah yum!

Leave a Reply

