Fresh blueberries

Can you believe it’s Wednesday already? Time sure does seem to fly by in the summer time. My mom, my brother and I just booked a small trip to OKC on Thursday and Friday. We haven’t been on a family trip, just us, since I was 17 and we went to Disney World, almost 5 years ago! Way too long! We won’t do anything special, go to Bricktown (a wannabe riverwalk-type place), and a huge waterpark. I am still a kid at heart so I can’t wait 🙂

I went to my dad’s house the other day and took some beautiful photos of his vegetable garden. It must be nice to have all that fresh produce just outside your door and not to have to run to the grocery store or farmer’s market every time you need a tomato.

Yellow tomatoes, the first pick of the season:

07-07 005

Everything we picked, carrots, onions, peppers and tomatoes:

07-07 007

After an intense yoga session yesterday morning, the only thing that sounded remotely appetizing was a refreshing green monster. Inside my green monster was just the usual: 1 frozen banana, a few handfuls of spinach, 1 cup vanilla soymilk, and 1 scoop of chocolate amazing grass. *Still lovin’ those Disney glasses Mom!

07-07 009

After breakfast, I set out on a baking project. We have an abundance of fresh blueberries in the house that my grandma brought over last weekend so I used them to my advantage and created a delicious blueberry muffin recipe.

07-07 010

These muffins were very good. My dad is a foodie, himself and he raved about these blueberry muffins. He told me that they were the absolute best muffin that he has ever tasted, which definitely boosted my confidence a bit.

For lunch, I used some more blueberries and created a delicious, summer salad with romaine, spinach, blueberries, strawberries and grapes.

07-07 016

On the side, of course I enjoyed one of my blueberry muffins.

07-07 017

In the afternoon, I went on my long walk and came back home for a snack, a banana & peanut butter.

07-07 019

I have been having to improvise for dinner most nights since I have to use what is in my mom’s kitchen and she does not cook. I have picked up a few things at the grocery store that were a must but for the most part I have just been throwing things together. However, I was really craving some pasta last night (hormones, perhaps? haha) so I picked up some simple ingredients to make a pasta dish.

07-07 020

I cooked the pasta then added the tomato sauce, some spinach and minced garlic. It turned out fabulous!

07-07 018

MMmm.. pasta!

Can I just say how much of an inspiration Meghann is after her post this morning? She just radiates happiness and confidence in her bikini pictures. Way to Meghann!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Fresh blueberries

  1. lowandbhold

    Oh fun! Trip the big city, haha! There is a new restaurant in Deep Deuce you should try if you have time by the name of Sage. They almost entirely make everything with organic ingreds and they have awesome cocktails. I was disappointed in the vegetarian options, but if you eat meat the menu is really cool and reasonably priced. I’m sure you have old standby places you’re planning to go, but they just opened up and it’s a total food blogger locale, haha.

    The muffins look SOOO good.

  2. wow, banana with peanut butter and pasta! sounds like a perfect day of eats to me!

  3. Ohhh gosh… now I need pasta too! It looks so good!

  4. fearlessfabulousfulloflife

    what beautiful pictures!!!! those muffins look fabulous 🙂 xoxox

  5. Hi Haleigh! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    Love all the fresh produce–it really must be amazing to have those lovely veggies in the backyard.

    Great job with the blueberry muffins too! What recipe did you use, if I may ask?

  6. Love your blog! Such pretty pictures! And I see some Target action..which is fabulous! 😉

Leave a Reply

