Indulgent weekend

Whoa, what a whirlwind weekend it was!! It seemed to fly by way too fast. And, it wasn’t too hot! That is typically unheard of in Oklahoma in July, so we enjoyed the nice, cool weather to the fullest.

There were some fireworks:

July Fourth weekend 007

Some sleeping chickens: (haha, we were outside city limits at my girl friend’s aunt’s who owns a lot of farm animals)

July Fourth weekend 006

Hans drinking beer in the EMT.. don’t ask πŸ˜‰

July Fourth weekend 004

Oh, yeah! This is supposed to be a food blog right? Well, I guess I should get to it then.

The fourth of July weekend was an indulgent one, indeed. But, I believe I enjoyed myself in moderation. Yes, I drank a few too many glasses of sangria which led to a few too many potato chips, but ya know what? That is okay.. It doesn’t happen all the time and I know that after the holiday I will go back to my normal healthy eating routine. In the past, I used to restrict myself after such a weekend but now I know better than that now and I know how to balance it out in a healthy manner.

Even though, I enjoyed a few too many potato chips.. I also enjoyed a few refreshing green monsters, it’s always fun to drink them in a wine glass.. haha I feel much more sophisticated.

July Fourth weekend 003

My usual green monsters consist of:

1 cup vanilla soy milk
roughly 2 to 3 cups of spinach
1 frozen banana
1 scoop of Chocolate Amazing Meal Superfood

Of course, I like to switch up the mix a little by adding different fruits and some nut butter for more staying power when I need the extra boost.. but the original green monster is by far the best. I just love how I feel after these babies.. I have been drinking them since the beginning of March and I can truly see a difference in my skin and the way I feel all around.

Along with the glorious green monsters came some not so green monsters on the 4th, a cheeseburger straight from the grill, homemade mac n’ cheese and baked beans.. You can never go wrong with the true American grill food. On the side, I had some amazing cherries.

July Fourth weekend 005

I do not eat red meat that often, but I will if I want to. I hate to put labels on things.. if I want to eat something then I will eat it, whether it be a cheeseburger or a fresh salad. I do what works for me.

I had to take Hans to the airport yesterday, he has to be back in Charlotte for work and I am staying in Tulsa for 2 more weeks for a friends’ wedding. After the drive back from the airport, I was starving and put together a nice, simple dinner for myself. I had fresh corn and fresh green beans on hand from the farmers market. It was absolutely delicious served with a small piece of chicken breast. The freshest of foods really does make a difference. This meal was so simple but so satisfying.

July Fourth weekend 008

After this weekend, I am ready to get back to clean eating! After an indulgent weekend, my best tips to get back on track are:

I drink a lot of water, even more than usual. I stay away from coffee as it tends to weigh me down a bit. I consicously make sure to eat plenty of greens and no alcohol. Also, I cut back on the small treats that I have on a normal basis like peanut butter, cereal, or chocolate. Everything evens out in the end my friends, don’t feel guilty after you have enjoyed yourself.

XOXO

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Indulgent weekend

  1. lowandbhold

    I totally agree with your philosophy. I indulged a little myself, but no guilt here either!

    Glad you had a good fourth and didn’t get rained on! We had a lot of rain in the evening.

  2. Oh my, I am sooo envious of that ear of corn!! I didn’t know I was craving it… too bad I just had two wisdom teeth removed – I’ll have to wait to fulfill the craving! Great tips and I totally agree with reducing the guilt. The green monsters are starting to sound attractive – what do you make them in (blender?)

  3. You and I are in the same boat – indulge without regrets over the weekend but then get back to the usual πŸ™‚ I’ve got to say, I love going back to the usual eats!

    Great tips and it sounds like you guys had a FANTASTIC weekend!

  4. mm mac n cheese with a burger = perfect 4th of july to me! haha

  5. Sounds like you had a great 4th July. I love your healthy attitude towards holidays, indulging and getting back on track.

  6. love your philosophy! balance is what it’s all about – and extra greens never hurt. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

