Deutschland- Here I come!

Hi Guys!

I am leaving for the airport in a few hours and I am so excited! I have been so bored since grandma left and finally last night I went out with a friend and now I am leaving soon. Now that I look back on it, time has flown by! It is just an amazing feeling to know that in the morning I will be in Germany awaiting new adventures! Here are a few goodies that I packed for my trip. It is always nice to know that I have some bars ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t really like to bring a lot of food with me on my long trips because really, what’s the point? I want to experience their culture not my own but I like to bring nutrition bars in case of an emergency or something like that.

bars

My game plan for my month abroad in Europe is to just trust myself. I know enough about nutritiously dense food and portion sizes that I should be able to do that. I want to experience the culture and the food without my jeans feeling tight when I get back home. My goals are to:

1. Not be overly restrictive because I am scared of gaining weight when I am on my trip.
2. Try all of the new foods without guilt.
3. Eat normally (for me) 90% of the time, and the rest can be room for indulgences.
4. As far as exercise goes- walking, walking, walking! That’s the nice part about living in Europe, you can walk everywhere.. it is so lovely! And I brought Jillian’s Shred along for the ride too.

Anyway, I have no doubt that I will be fine. In Europe, you walk everywhere and the portions are smaller. In previous European trips my jeans have felt looser afterward because of all the walking so I don’t know why I am worrying about it. It seems like in situations like these, those nasty little thoughts of… “Haleigh, you need to restrict since you are going on such a long trip” just keep coming at me. I try to ignore them but sometimes it is hard not to. I want to come clean though. I want this blog to be about honesty. I am not perfect but I am trying. I probably have overly restricted myself this week but that is okay because I realized that it is not worth it and I should just trust myself so that is what I am trying to do now. This blog really has helped me in so many ways. So, I just wanted to tell you thanks!! I can’t wait to share all of my European adventures this month with you all.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY MOM!!

I wish I could be there, I feel like I am missing out on a lot this month. My mom’s bday, my aunt’s bday, my little brother’s bday, mother’s day, a family wedding and my cousin’s graduation! Dang, I hope they will forgive me! I love you all! Have a fabulous Sunday and I will post as soon as I can from Germany. Kisses!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Deutschland- Here I come!

  1. Ich liebe Deutschland!! Have fun!

  2. You forgot Austin’s birthday. Dang we don’t have many days in May where we aren’t celebrating something, huh. Have fun in Germany and be careful.

  3. Bec

    have a great time!

  4. Have a safe trip Haleigh, and ENJOY yourself, you only live once ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. OH MY GOSH, SOOO EXCITING!!! HAVE A BLAST!!

  6. have fun in Germany!!!! i cant wait to read about it!

  7. Priyanka

    Can’t wait to read about the great time you will have there!

  8. Hope you’re having a great trip! Hope the flight went well and you’re having an awesome time – I’m looking forward to the recap!

  9. YAY! You’re in Germany now! Can’t wait to hear all about it! I know exactly what you mean about the thoughts and pressure you put on yourself to restrict before a long trip. I do that too because I know I’ll be indulging on my trip I try to restrict or I keep having those thoughts DURING my trip which just makes me overeat on my trip because I get these mixed singals going on in my brain where part of me is saying stop or restrict while the other part is fighting to eat as much as possible of everything because it’s “my only chance to eat that food” since it’s not available in my country. Ugh, it’s hard to balance stuff like that but I am sure you will do great, you seem to be in the right frame of mind already!

Leave a Reply

