Nerdy Tourist

It’s Friday!! Yay! That means that I am one step closer to my trip to Germany πŸ™‚ Grandma and I have been having a wonderful time doing completely nerdy tourist things in Charlotte. These past few days, we have been going non stop! We have been to 2 art museums, 1 history museum, and an old southern plantation. Plus, many uptown adventures! It has been a blast and I am just so happy to have some one around to show the area. Charlotte really is beautiful and I am so happy that we ended up moving here. We are going to Chattanooga, TN on Sunday to visit some family that I haven’t seen in about 4 years! So, I am happy that we get to catch up. Here are some highlights of my eats from Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Green Monsters:

5-1-001

Cereal/Musli/Yogurt mess:

5-1-003

Oatmeal, of course:

5-1-010

Enjoying a soy latte while watching the crazy taxi cab drivers fight with each other over customers, haha it was hilarious.. they get so angry!!!

5-1-005

Delicious strawberries that actually taste like strawberries:

5-1-008

From the cute little farmer’s market on the corner:

5-1-004

Refreshing salad with greens, black olives, raisins, and broccoli w/honey mustard vinaigrette:

5-1-006

1/2 of an amazing whole wheat wrap with portobello mushrooms and veggies:

5-1-007

Pita Pit!!!!!

5-1-011

Sushi:

5-1-009

And I have been savoring a few squares of Swedish chocolate each day, mmm….

5-1-0021

I have been doing some thinking about what I what to do with my life. So dramatic sounding, I know… but I just really am torn. I have never been one of those people who have said that they want to be a dentist when they are 3 years old and then actually end up becoming a dentist. I have danced around with the medical field, french, art, and teaching. I just feel like I am not passionate for any of those things. Well, then I think… do you have to be passionate about your job to enjoy your life? Well, yes.. I want to live my life to the fullest and I want to love what I am doing. With that said, I have always considered pastry arts but never seriously because I didn’tΒ  know where Hans and I would end up. Well, it just so happens that one of the most prestigious culinary schools, Johnson & Wales, is located in Uptown Charlotte. I went to visit the university today and I had a meeting with the admissions advisor and this crazy dream may become a reality. I fell in love with baking from the start. I have an artistic mind and I just love creating such things. It would be the harder route for me but I am willing to take it. However, they are full for the pastry arts program for next year and I haven’t even applied so I wouldn’t start taking my major classes until next fall but I have plenty of general classes that I need to graduate for the pastry arts program too so that is not so much of a problem since there is a community college right down the street. I am excited to see where my path in life will go, so hopefully everything will work out πŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend ladies!!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Nerdy Tourist

  1. hey girl! glad you are havin such a good time with ur grammy! i am so jealous of everyone who was pita pit! wish we had it here.

    the pastry art thing sounds GREAT! i think you should most definitely go for it!! xoxoxo

  2. Culinary school sounds awesome! It is something that has always interested me as well. Glad you have been having fun with your grandma!

  3. Ooooh, yeah. Pastry arts would be great for you. Excellent idea. Just don’t eat the chocolate all up.

  4. DAIM!! I love those!! Glad you’re having fun touring πŸ™‚

    I think you would be a fantastic pastry arts student – go for it!!

  5. Ooo very exciting news! Johnson & Wales is a great school, a friend of mine went to the one in Providence, RI for awhile and loved it.

    Pastry arts sounds awesome, I’m so glad you seem to have found something you’re very passionate about!!!

  6. Oh wow, that is so exciting with the pastry art!!!!

  7. That’s great news about the school πŸ™‚ I was like you….always danced around with different ideas on what I wanted to do. There were always many different things I liked, it was hard to settle on just one thing! It sounds like you have found something that you can truly be passionate about and be great at πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  8. Oh wow what delish food! I want the pita pit! Yumyum. What a wonderful opportunity to go into baking! So exciting. I’m searching a little as well – I’m starting my MSc in Sociology next september, but I would also like to go into fitness as a trainer and an instructor. We’ll see what happens!

  9. Great eats! Everything looks so good! I’m so happy you’ve found something you feel like you want to pursue! I know more than well enough how frustrating it can be to try to figure out what you want to do with your life. I am still trying to figure it out and I have NO clue. I have several interests but nothing jumps out at me and shines as the one thing I really want to do. I thought it was working in fashion/journalism but now that I’ve been in that industry for quite a while and it’s only hurt me really I know it’s not for me so I’m trying to figure out where to go next.

Leave a Reply

