Take me to Thailand + BBBC Progress

Happy Friday All! Yay, the weekend is finally here. I know, I know.. but Haleigh, you don’t do anything right now, which means that the weekdays are super boring for me and I definitely look forward to the weekends just like every one else. I have always been an always on the move type person, so for me to have nothing to do really bothers me but it is such a great feeling to know that I will start school again in August. When Hans was looking for a job, I had no idea when or where I would start school so it’s peaceful to know that I have an exact date to resume my studies, and it’s just awesome that I finally get to focus on me again 🙂 Enough of the talking, let’s get to the fun part of this blog: The food!! Thursday was an awesome food day! I flew to the other side of the world for dinner: Thailand! 🙂

Back to breakfast, I am officially obsessed with the breakfast cookie. This breakfast can do no wrong. So, on Thursday morning I had my normal breakfast cookie 1/2 cup oats, 1/4 scoop protein powder, 1/2 banana, spoonful of Mighty Maple and some vanilla soy milk to get the breakfast cookie consistency.

4-24-008

After breakfast, I went for a long walk to the grocery store. I don’t know the mileage but total it took me a good 2 hours. It was nice to take long walks again, I used to take them all the time when I lived in Sweden, where you could actually walk to something!! Haha, I can only walk to a gas station and grocery store from where we are living now and then it is not a very beautiful walk since I am walking off of a main street but oh well, it was still a fun walk. After my walk, I caught up with the BBBC challenges for the last couple of days. I thought that I would take a minute to talk about my BBBC progress. Since starting the Bikini Body Boot Camp, I have completely stepped out of my comfort zone when it comes to exercise. I have tried a lot of new things in the last month that I thought I could never do, whether be because I am shy or a horrible runner. Before the challenge, my most common form of exercise was yoga and walking. I have followed along with Angela’s challenges and I have started running about 3x a week, went to zumba every Friday morning, shredding, started strength training and added more pilates inspired core exercises. I have enjoyed most of the new exercise that I have been doing but I have found that I completely hate strength training. It may be good for you, but that is not enough for me to keep going with it, I just don’t like using machines. The more natural way is always better. However, I found that I love to run, shred and go to zumba so I will definitely keep that up. So, thanks Angela for coming up with such a fun challenge and pushing me to step out of the box. I decided to take my second measurements for the challenge today (I took my first measurements on April 1) and I was surprised to see that I have lost 1/4 inch from my waist, 1/8 inch from my arms, and 1/2 inch from my thighs!! My hip measurements were the same but thats okay because holy crap!! I didn’t believe it when I saw the numbers. It gives me more motivation to keep strong with the challenge. Here is a midway through photo: I don’t have a before photo (well, I do but it’s in a bikini and I am not really comfortable showing it to you guys) but my tummy has always been flat but it hasn’t had any definition in a long time and I am beginning to see some true definition in my arms and abs. I mean I still have some work to do on my lower abdominal area but I am a work in progress 🙂

4-24-007

Aahhh, I really can’t believe I posted a photo of myself in a sports bra, wow.. I am just going to pretend that no one is going to notice my post-run hair, silly stare and sunburn (hey, a swedish winter will make any one pale, even a cherokee indian, obviously.. haha)

Yes, I have 2 tattoos.. the one on my hip.. well, it was a stupid 18 year old impulse thing but it’s still pretty but I love the one on the back of my neck, it is cherokee indian feathers, just acknowledging my heritage ya’ll.

After my super long walk, it was time for lunch! Lunch was more of a snackfest than an actually lunch but it’s all good because that’s what I was 4-24-001wanting on Thursday.

Snack #1- Green monster with 1/2 banana, spinach and 1/2 cup soy milk.

Snack #2- Carrots and Hummus, and a few strawberries (no pic).

4-24-0031

Snack #3- Half of a whole wheat english muffin with PB and banana.4-24-0021


I laid out at the pool all afternoon, yes.. it is nice to have nothing to do when you can lay out at the pool, but it sucks the rest of the time! For dinner, I have been wanting to attempt a Pad Thai recipe but I mean come on tamarind pulp.. what the heck is that? So, I when I saw this:

4-24-0051

I knew that Pad Thai would be possible! This baby has a nice, short ingredient list that was easy to pronounce so I went ahead and bought it. It saved a lot of money since I would have had to buy some ingredients that I would probably never use more than a few times. My Pad Thai was quick and simple but oh so fantastic! I soaked some rice noodles in hot water for 30 minutes, then cooked the chicken in a skillet, threw in the rice noodles, some bean sprouts and broccoli and then added about 6 tbsp of the Pad Thai sauce. Quick, easy, affordable and delicious! But, is it authentic? Well, I am not too sure since I haven’t been to Thailand. But, Hans has and he said that it looked nothing like the food in Thailand but it was the best meal that I have cooked since we moved to Charlotte. So, I guess that means it was a plus! Hans was so excited he had leftovers for lunch!

4-24-0091

After dinner, we took a walk, watched the Office and then called it a night.

Are you participating in the BBBC? If so, have you seen any progress?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Take me to Thailand + BBBC Progress

  1. Bec

    The office was amazing last night! Love the breakfast cookie 🙂

  2. Your abs look really toned — awesome job! I am trying to do more ab exercises to tone up but am not officially in the BBBC challenge!

  3. Wow the abs are looking great Haleigh! Good job so far girl, looks like you’re sticking to it! 😀

    And laying out by the pool is sooo fun! Have a great weekend!

  4. Looks like you are doing great!! Long walks always feel so good. I am so happy that the weather is getting nicer out and will definitely be taking more walks!

    Glad to hear you are enjoying running! It’s definitely addicting! Keep it up with the challenge, you are a star!!

  5. I adore long walks!! By the way, you look great!! I know what you mean about free time, it’s nice when it’s beautiful out but in the winter/rainy days I could easily scratch the paint off the walls from boredom!

  6. Vani

    Your abs look awesome! Way to own your accomplishments 🙂
    My boyfriend is Cherokee too!

  7. eatlivelovedream

    wow!!! What great results your getting! That’s awesome! keep it up:)

  8. Awesome you posted a pic! And tats are cool, I’ve got a few – first one when I was 16! Hehehe. Awesome progress!

Leave a Reply

