Oh, no!! It’s a hill…

Tuesday morning I jumped on the bandwagon and had my first breakfast cookie. I was getting in somewhat of a “breakfast rut”. Don’t get me wrong, I adore my oatmeal but day after day it gets a bit old. I have attempted the breakfast cookie a few months ago, but me.. being the insanely messy person that I am, made a complete and utter tornado of a mess so I ended up with most of the breakfast cookie on the floor so I had to skip it. However, I had the perfect idea the other night to keep myself from making the kitchen look like a 4 year old had been hanging out in there all evening. I put all of the breakfast cookie ingredients in a cup and mixed it and then I put it on a tiny plate and flattened it out with the back of a spoon. It worked like a charm! No mess at all. But, did the breakfast cookie live up the my normal bowl of oats?? …Oh heck yes!! The breakfast cookie not only tasted fabulous but it kept me full just as long as my oatmeal does. It was a different kind of full, but just as filling and satisfying. The fitnessista is a genius šŸ™‚ I also loved the fact that I could enjoy my breakfast and coffee at the same time. Usually, I eat breakfast first and then drink my coffee. I am such a slow eater that my oatmeal gets too cold or my cereal gets too soggy if I am drinking my coffee as well as eating my breakfast.

My breakfast cookie contained 1/2 cup oats, 1/4 scoop of chocolate whey protein powder, 1 spoonful Mighty Maple, 1/2 mashed banana, and just enough vanilla soy milk to get the right consistency. Mmm.. tasty breakfast! I am looking forward to my next breakfast cookie already. If any one hasn’t tried them yet, I urge you to give up the normal oats for just one day and give it a try! You won’t regret it.. I sure didn’t.

4-22-003

I have really been feelin’ the Flat Out wraps these past few days and today was no exception. Today’s wrap was an omelette wrap. I scrambled 1 whole egg, spinach, tomato, and added it to the Flat Out with a ton of hot sauce. The wrap tasted good but the consistency wasn’t too great, it ended up getting a bit mushy in the end. On the side, I had some carrots.

An eggcellent (so corny) wrap:

4-22-001

Some crunchy carrots on the side:

4-22-002

Lunch dessert was a fruit platter with a few strawberries and some grapes. I was so excited when I saw strawberries on sale at the supermarket today. I love strawberries, especially Swedish strawberries… mmm, I am going to miss them this June. They are smaller but they taste so much more. These strawberries were okay but nothing compares to the Swedish strawberries.

4-22-005

Afternoon snack was a small banana smoothie. 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk with some ice. I wanted a light snack since I was going running about an hour afterward. The smoothie held me over perfectly until dinner and fueled me well for our run. I picked up Hans from work and we went straight to a nature preserve by his work for a short run in the hopes of beating some traffic. We ran on a nature trail and man oh man.. was it difficult! There were a ton of uphill trails, I was huffing and puffing almost the whole time, haha.. well, at least my toned and tight booty will thank me in a few weeks. I am seriously loving all of this running that we have been doing lately. We did end up missing most of the traffic on our drive home, so that was definitely a plus… we decided to take this route a few times a week, traffic seriously sucks!

4-22-004

For dinner, I just threw together a quick entree last minute but it ended up tasting decadent and delicious. I baked some salmon in the oven with some salt and pepper and a mustard sauce that I bought at Ikea awhile back. Hans’ mom used this mustard sauce a lot with fish and it made the salmon have a distinctly unique taste.

4-22-006

Mustard sauce salmon:

4-22-008

On the side, we had some whole wheat couscous and broccoli. Simplicity at it’s finest.

4-22-0071

I wanted to clear the air a little bit about my ‘Crap Free Week.’ I am not doing a full blown detox or anything. My eats are usually pretty clean and I am satisfied with the way that I eat. I focus on real food, most of the time, and I enjoy the way that I eat. However, I was getting into a nasty habit of having something sweet after dinner and I wanted to get rid of the habit before it was too late. I would much rather have a decadent dessert here and there than a low cal dessert periodically. So, that is my main goal for CFW. Last night wasn’t difficult at all for me against the sweet tooth monster. I hardly even had a sugar craving which means that my CFW is definitely working so far. I did gain about 3 lbs since I moved to Charlotte but I believe that kicking the unnecessary after dinner snacking will easily take them off šŸ™‚

For all you runners out there, what is your favorite pre-run snack?

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Oh, no!! It’s a hill…

  1. yum breakfast cookies are awesome! as for pre run snacks, i’ve recently found that an almond butter stuffed date (or 2 šŸ™‚ ) is really good

  2. i’m not a runner per se, but my fave pre workout snack is a carby cereal like shredded wheat, with cold milk, or bread/rice cake/tortilla with PB

  3. YAY the breakfast cookie! Woo hoo! šŸ™‚

  4. Lovely bfast cookie! My fav snack is half a Cliff or banana and almond butter.

  5. love the salmon… it looks fantastic.

    sooo not a runner, but i do like to have a scoop of PB before i start to.. walk .. really fast!

  6. I love Clif bars as a pre-run snack. All of the food looks great!

    I am seeing those Flat Out Wraps everywhere and have no clue what they are or where to find them…are they different from a regular whole wheat wrap?

  7. That’s it – I think I’m officially the ONLY blogger who hasn’t tried the infamous cookie! Hehe eggcellent – I like!

  8. That salmon looks so good! I really want some!

Leave a Reply

