Honesty and sunshine

Happy Saturday! It is a fabulous day in Charlotte! 79 degrees and sunny!! It has been an amazing day, to say the least. I woke up not in the best of moods but it turned out to be a great day.

The reason why I wasn’t in the best of moods this morning was because, well..Β  to be honest, I have gained 3 lbs in the last month. My happy weight is 112, and I have been at 115 since we moved to Charlotte. I do not like this at all, it makes me feel uncomfortable with myself even though you could see no difference to the eye. I don’t really want to talk about weight on my blog because in the grand scheme that is life, does 3 lbs make a difference?? Hell no.. but I think it is important to realize that I am human! I am still susceptible to weight gain despite my healthy lifestyle and these things still bother me. I am not going to lie though guys.. I did freak out a little bit when I realized it was a real gain and not water weight. I am proud of myself though because I did not overly restrict myself when I noticed, I just kept eating normally. Instead of changing my diet after I noticed the gain, I added more cardio. It has been about 3 to 4 weeks now and that hasn’t made a difference so now it’s time to start changing up my eating habits. My goal is to get rid of these crappy 3 lbs before our month trip to Germany. I want to enjoy myself in Germany and knowing that I gained a little will honestly keep me from doing that. Sounds stupid, but that’s how it is. I am not leaving for Germany for 3 and a half weeks, so that is totally doable.. I mean it is just 3 lbs even though they are driving me crazy. I am just going to make small changes to my eating habits, I will note of them in my upcoming posts.

Enough about that though!! For breakfast, I went with ol’ faithful today, oatmeal.Β  I don’t really like trying new things for breakfast because oatmeal just always holds me over until dinner and when I experiment with something else for breakfast, I am almost always disappointed. My oats were just the usual this morning. 1/2 cup oats, 1 tsp brown sugar, cinnamon, 1/2 a banana, some soymilk and a smaller spoonful of peanut butter. *Since I am trying to lose a few, I cut the peanut butter in my oatmeal in half from what I usually add* I forgot to get a photo of my oatmeal this morning. I got out of the habit of taking photos of my food since Hans had the camera all week!

So here is a recycled oatmeal photo.

4-13-0012

We went to the mall for awhile. The area around the mall is just beautiful. The houses are truly ‘Southernesque’ and there are so many beautiful trees. Our main goal at the mall was to get Hans some running shoes. We decided to start running together! I am excited about this because I always exercise harder in a group than by myself. After the mall it was lunch time already since we had a slow morning. I made a simple Flat out wrap with hummus, 1 slice turkey, spinach, honey mustard and a tomato.

4-18-001

After lunch, we set out for our first run together! We went to a greenway and ran in the forest. So much better than running on pavement! Not only more appealing to the eye but also more appealing to the body! This run was so hard forΒ  me. Hans used to do orienteering, so he runs a lot faster than me so I struggled just to keep up with him. I think I pushed myself a little too hard at the time but afterwards I felt damn good! I don’t know exactly what our mileage was but we ran for about 35 minutes. I can’t wait for our next run together! Nothing beats spending time with the hubby and getting in a great workout at the same time. After our run, we were freaking hot from the 79 degree weather so we ran up to the apartment, got our swimsuits on and jumped in the pool! Holy crap, it was like ice cold!!! But it felt so good afterward. We laid out at the pool for about an hour and a half, so relaxing! I even got a little burnt which is unusual for me because I have a lot of Cherokee in my blood πŸ™‚ My afternoon snack was the usual apple.

4-18-002

Hans wanted pizza for dinner tonight so I didn’t end up cooking. I had no idea what I wanted for dinner so I steamed some broccoli first and then waited awhile afterward to see what I really wanted. And of course, all I wanted was something sweet. Instead of making a normal dinner and then killing for a piece of chocolate afterward, I had a small bowl of cereal instead. I knew if I didn’t eat cereal for dinner then my sweet tooth would be going crazy later on in the evening so I went with it and made a bowl of cereal. 1 cup no-brand flake cereal with half a banana and soymilk. Perfectly sweet and satisfying! No late night treats for me tonight. You will probably be seeing cereal for dinner for a little while until I get out of the habit of having a little something sweet after dinner. So far, so good with taming the sweet tooth monster.

Broccoli:

4-18-003

Cereal:

4-18-004

Hans and I are going to chill on the couch and watch a movie tonight so I hope every one has a fabulous Saturday night!!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Honesty and sunshine

  1. Great outlook in terms of the three pounds.
    Love the cereal with bananas!

  2. Your paragraph regarding the weight gain is so refreshing! Your mentality is right where it should be – you’re not freaking out, you’re not changing your diet, you’re just becoming more active. That’s wonderful!! Good luck, you’ll succeed πŸ™‚

  3. Hey, silly girl. Did you ever stop to think that because of your recent increase in exercise that you have lost fat and gained muscle which weighs more than fat? I bet you a million bucks that’s what’s going on. Had a good birthday celebration with the family for your mom today. We went to P.F. Chang’s. Jealous aren’t you. Love ya! Stay positive.

  4. I love cereal for dinner πŸ™‚ Sounds like a great day with running & time at the pool.

  5. That’s so great that you and your hubby are going to be running together πŸ™‚ Have a great rest of your weekend!

  6. I know exactly what you mean about the weight gain. Ever since I gained back to my “normal” and what is considered “healthy” weight I’ve felt uncomfortable about it. The worst is that I keep fluctuating up and down about 4 lbs. It drives me absolutely nuts! It seems though that no matter how much I exercise or how healthy I eat I never get lower than those 4 lbs. I know exactly where my happy weight is, where I feel comfortable and healthy (not underweight) but I’ve got a couple of lbs to go that just won’t budge!

    Are you sure your weight gain isn’t muscle weight? I know I hate hearing that though, so I appologise in advance if that question aggravates you too. I just know it’s what everyone always tells me when I say I’m exercising and eating healthy but not loosing weight.

Leave a Reply

