The Hills Are Alive…

with the sound of music… la la la la

the-hills-are-alive

I love that movie! It’s a classic, and one of my very favorites. Ever since I was a little girl, one of my dreams was to go to the “hills” that were in the sound of music. Well, it seems as though that dream is going to come true when I go to Germany next month. There is a very good chance that we are going to meet Hans’ parents in a small village in the Austrian Alps. I can’t wait and I really hope that everything works out and we get to spend a weekend with them there.

Hans has had the camera this week for work so I am happy to announce that I will be back to normal posting. Nothing much has been going on this week, I have gone to some workout classes, done a little “shredding”.. ya know, the usual. I met my first new ‘Charlotte’ friend the other day at yoga class. She is super sweet and we went to zumba class this morning together. It’s funny how one small thing can put you in such a good mood, this girl is so friendly and that is hard to come by! And zumba was nothing short of amazing this morning! We had a different instructor than last week and I adore her class. She is Armenian.. and dang, she can shake those hips! It was loads of fun! Since zumba started at 8am, I had a small snack beforehand of peanut butter sandwiched between 1/2 of a banana. Perfect pre-zumba fuel. After zumba, I had my normal bowl of oats. 1/2 cup oats, the other half of pre-zumba banana, 1 tsp brown sugar, cinnamon, some soy milk and a spoonful of Natural PB. This week I have been experimenting with a few green monsters but I was really craving some warm, comforting oats this Friday morning so I opted for that instead.

Pre-zumba fuel:

04-17-001

Post-zumba oaties:

04-17-003

After breakfast, my plan was to do a few million loads of laundry. I have a problem… I tend to wait until the very last minute until we have no clothes left to wear to do our laundry.. oops! Well, I went to the laundry mat at our apartment complex and… no laundry soap, went up to the apartment to see if we had any, and … no laundry soap. Gggrr, there is no place that I can get to by walking to get some so I guess I have to put it off for a few more days. So, today has been a pretty lazy day. I went on a walk and watched Make Me A Supermodel re-runs. 🙂 I enjoy lazy days every once in awhile, but I have had so many lately since I don’t start school until August. I guess the grass is always greener, I have no doubt once school starts for me again, I will want more lazy days. After my walk, I made a light yet satisfying lunch. I threw together some spinach, 1/2 cup black beans, some tomato, 1/4 of an avocado made into a quick guacamole..then put it all on a plate and voila! Taco salad. I added some salsa after the photo which made the salad pretty spicy, delish!

04-17

And a sliced apple with cinnamon for lunch dessert.

apple

Afternoon snack was a fabulous iced-coffee (I couldn’t resist!!) and half of a banana bread larabar.

04-17-004

Mmm.. love these!!

larabar

We had a nice, relaxing dinner this evening. I stuffed 2 chicken breasts with spinach and goat cheese and baked them in the oven for 35 minutes. On the side, we had some zucchini and squash. The chicken was to die for.. it was amazing! Next time I make this recipe, I am going to add sundried tomatoes as well, it would complement the dish perfectly!! Yum!

04-17-005

I didn’t get a photo of the whole dish.. just imagine some zucchini and squash too 🙂

Of course, I had a glass of vino. The bottle was left over from last weekend.

04-17-006

I am definitely feeling a little stir-crazy this evening. We are planning to go do something tonight, so I will report back in the morning 🙂 I hope that every one has a fantastic Friday evening!! Bisous!



5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Peanut Butter, Snack

5 responses to “The Hills Are Alive…

  1. Iced coffees are FANTASTIC! I know what you mean about having too much time on your hands – when I switched my major I was off of school from February until August! I was about ready to go bonkers!!

    By the way, I don’t know if you read VegNews but the city they chose for this issue was Stockholm 🙂

  2. glad zumba was fun and you met someone new!

  3. I love Iced coffee..Glad that you found a new friend!

  4. It’s always great to meet new, good people 🙂 Glad you had fun at Zumba! Those chicken breasts look so good right now!

  5. Can I just say that I totally hear what you’re saying about your new friend…I LOVE making new friends. The older I get, the harder it is (I feel) to meet new actual friends, not just acquaintances ya know? So I’m happy you met someone (especially in your new town!) to hang with and workout with! I quotes the Sound of Music in one of my posts recently too haha 🙂

    Happy Saturday Haleigh!

Leave a Reply

