My Story

I wanted to share a little bit more about myself and my struggles. Every one has their own story so I thought that I should tell mine. I grew up in a semi stable food environment. My parents cooked a few times a week, and we ordered take out a few times a week. Not necessarily a healthy situation but not necessarily unhealthy either. I remember my dad cooking chili, spaghetti, lamb chops, chicken, etc and my mom used to bake a lot of casseroles. I never had a problem with my weight until I was in 7th grade. I remember distinctly when and where it happened. When I was 12, I had put on a little weight during summer break because I was in the house by myself and not going to kid’s day camp anymore. My weight eventually evened out when I had a growth spurt a few months later. However, I can remember sitting at the lunch table in middle school, eating my lunch, and looking around the table and none of my friends were eating lunch. So, I thought that I shouldn’t be eating lunch too and I lost some weight, my friends noticed and praised me and it all goes from there. My weight was stable all throughout high school due to a very active lifestyle. I was on 2 cheerleading teams, school and all stars. I was practicing almost every day for at least 3 hours for school and 2 hours for all stars and on top of that I went to tumbling classes to increase my skills individually. I never really watched what I ate in high school, I either ate whatever I wanted or when I noticed my weight going up.. I ate hardly at all until it went back down. However, all of this changed once my high school boyfriend and I broke up. I was a senior in high school, getting ready to graduate and I had just gone through a break up earlier in the year. My weight got very low, I don’t know exactly how low because we didn’t have a scale, but I can tell from photos during the time period. After graduation, my mom took me on a trip to NYC and I realized that the world is a wonderful place, why was I doing this to myself? So, I stopped and started to eat the way I normally ate again. Then college happened. Of course, with that comes a few pounds… about 15 to be exact, yep the freshman 15. How cliche. I met my husband a few months after I started university and I was very happy so I let go of restricting myself and enjoyed food, a little too much. I knew I wanted to get back down to my previous weight but when I decided to live in Sweden, so Hans could finish grad school, I kinda freaked out.. so along comes the weight loss, yet again. I got down to about 100 lbs, I am just shy of 5’3 (hey that extra bit counts when you’re short!!) 100 lbs is way too skinny for me. I don’t have a small frame, more of a medium and I have some major hips and curves, I am not meant to be that skinny. I thought I looked amazing at the time (even though my whole family noticed my behaviour and stressed the importance of how badly I was treating my body) and I was ready for my adventures in Europe. I hadn’t seen Hans for 2 months and when I got off the plane, he was kind of shocked at how thin I had become. We had to live with his parents for 1 month while we looked for an apartment in Sweden and his mom noticed my destructive eating behaviour. She tried in little ways to help me learn to eat healthy and exercise moderately. Her showing me was mostly how I turned my ways around. I saw that she was petite and small, like me ,but she still ate real food in moderation. It has been a struggle but I believe that I have restored most of my unhealthy views on food. I still have  my moments though. After eating well in Sweden, my weight has been stable at 112 (give or take) for almost 2 years. I am not saying that I am perfect at healthy eating and well-being because I am not. I love my cereal and candy!! I try to look at it as the path to health instead of trying to fit in a smaller size. This helps me when I have destructive thoughts in my head about eating and my body image. Well, I hope this has taught you a little more about myself and my journey to where I am today!

Since I can’t bring myself to post without a photo, I will leave you with a photo of me and one of my best friends, Inga. She is German but I met her in Sweden, she studied at the same school that I went to. I am going to visit her when I go to Germany in a month 🙂 Can’t wait to see her again!!

me-and-inga

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “My Story

  1. Vani

    Thanks so much for sharing this – I can definitely relate to the ups-and-downs and the struggle with consistency/moderation. You’re doing so well – and I agree, sometimes it takes someone “showing” you the way rather than “telling” you that you need to change. For me, other food bloggers “showed” me that it’s possible to eat real food and indulge in treats and still be healthy!

  2. Thanks for sharing this story, I can totally relate to your to so many of things your wrote.

  3. Thank you for the story Haleigh! I think you’re gorgeous! 🙂

    The up and down with weight makes sense, as it seemed to fluctuate during different times in your life, when you had new environments and stressors etc. I’m glad that you seem to have a healthy relationship with food now and have found your happy weight! You look amazing!!

    Michelle

  4. Thank you so much for sharing your story!! As a side note, I used to be a cheerleader too 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for sharing your story! You are so cute 🙂

  6. Thanks for sharing and well done for doing so well right now! I also learned from seeing healthy people enjoy stuff in moderation and it’s definitely what I aspire to.

  7. Thanks for sharing your story! Congrats on working on a healthy relationship with food and your body!

  8. Thanks for sharing your story! Very inspiring!

  9. thanks for sharing!!
    thats such an interesting story – im so jealous you got to go to sweeden!

  10. thakns for sharing your story girl! i’m so glad you have found peace with everything. it must feel so nice!! im working hard to be where you are at so this was very inspiring!! lots of love xo

  11. Thanks for sharing your story! You are so cute and your friend is gorgeous too!

  12. I can relate to a lot of the things you went through with weight and food. It is really encouraging to read about how well you are doing. You are right, we should focus on our food being a path to “wellness” not to being “skinny”. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Your story sounds a lot like mine. But you know most of my story so that’s no surprise to you. I know how tough it is and what a struggle it is to try to ignore those thoughts telling you to restrict so that you can binge or restrict because you have to loose weight. I’m happy you’ve found a healthy balance!

  14. hey i just came across your blog. thank you for sharing this story. its so horrible how many women and men are having issues with their weight/bodies/shape. we should just be enjoying our lives. they are short enough already 😉
    i am so happy to hear you’re going to germany :D. i am german! germany is amazing and the best of all are the bakeries. so so good. be sure to walk into them when you arrive and need a bite to eat 🙂
    i hope the weather will be good when you get there. i would love to know which part of germany you are going to see? maybe i can give you some tips.
    have a lovely day
    xxxx

  15. annaalstondonnelly

    Girlfriend! Thank you so much for shairng this. Reading about people’s journeys is so helpfula nd healing to me- it makes me realize that I am not alone. I particularly liked how you said that your loswest weight was way too skinny for you; that you were not built to be a pinhead- neither am I! I naturally have some serious curves and sometimes it so soo hard for me to accept them!It sounds like you have come a long way and I just love your blog- keep up the amazing work and thank you!

  16. It’s so crazy how one little event can change your whole eating habits. I went through a phase in high school, on the pom pom squad and we had to wear our uniforms on fridays, which meant short skirts, tight top. Friends of mine and I would do this crazy 3 day diet where you ate random things like 2 hot dogs (no bun) beets, plain tuna, saltine crackers, 1/2 cup of vanilla ice cream. You were supposed to lose 10 pounds in 3 days. It was so gross. I’m glad you are eating much better! I have a daughter who is 7, and she is not an ounce overweight, and last weekend, I took her shopping for some new clothes, and I kid you not, she tried something on and she said it made her look fat! I almost fell on the floor! I never talk about how I feel about my body in front of her, we do talk about healthy foods, if I am doing an exercise video she’ll change into her “work out” clothes.

    I enjoyed reading your personal post about yourself, that’s hard to do!

  17. eatlivelovedream

    I LOVED your story! It’s all about having a healthy attitude toward food:) Have a great Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

