Fiesta!

Hello chicas!

Today has been a cloudy, rainy day but it was enjoyed nonetheless. Hans had off from work today and after a long 4 day workweek, he wanted to take it easy today, lol! I went to zumba this morning!!! It was so much fun, I can’t wait to go back next week. Now this is my kinda exercise, when the class was over I was kinda sad instead of counting the minutes until I am done, like on the treadmill or elliptical. Sweat was literally dripping off of my face and I was out of breath almost the entire class, I love that feeling! The instructor seriously had so much energy, where does all of the energy come from? haha, she was fun with a thick Carolina accent and has some killer latin dance moves! After burning some serious calories during zumba, I was starving for breakfast!! Luckily, my overnight oats were waiting for me at home in the fridge! I put 1/3 cup oats in 1/3 cup water and let them soak overnight and then this morning I added greek yogurt, 1/2 a banana and a spoonful of Mighty Maple Peanut Butter, delish! Of course, when I decide to have overnight oats, it is the first chilly day in Charlotte! I was freezing after breakfast so I warmed up with a nice, warm cup of coffee… mmm!!

1/3 cup overnight oats w/greek yogurt, 1/2 banana, and spoonful of heaven:

4-10-002

For lunch, I made an interesting new wrap combo! I took 1 Flat Out and spread some lingonberry jam on it then I added 2 slices of turkey, 1 oz of goat cheese and a ton of spinach. While this combo may sound unappetizing, it was amazing! It had a lot of different tastes and textures and it kept me guessing throughout the meal. I always like to put sweet jam in savory meals for a nice mix up to the usual.

4-10-004

This is the goat cheese that I picked up at Harris Teeter, it’s a Norwegian brand, this was actually my first time to try goat cheese. I adore soft cheese, and this was no exception!!

4-10-003

with a side of cottage cheese:

4-10-005

No snack this afternoon! My lingon/goat cheese wrap kept me going for 5 hours!!! Whoa, now that’s what I call a meal! I did do some strength exercises this afternoon though! I did 3 sets of 10 push ups and in between each set I did some bicycle crunches. Gotta keep up with that Bikini Body Boot Camp! I make sure to keep up with all of the challenges that Angela suggests and I have added some of my own challenges too. In the last few weeks, I have gotten a gym membership, started a strength training program, upped my cardio sessions and gone to zumba (and loved it!!) Keep in mind that before this challenge, I stuck with yoga and walking.

Hans told me this afternoon that he wanted to cook tonight. Yes, Hans wanted to cook! Wow.. haha, I was kind of shocked so I went with it. He picked up all the groceries that he needed and guess what he cooked? Only one of the most male friendly meals of all time! TACOS!! Lol, at least we had lean ground turkey meat instead of ground beef. I opted for a soft taco because I really don’t like all the crunch to the hard tacos. In my taco, I added a little ground turkey, spinach, extra spicy salsa and a ton of guacamole. It was a fiesta for two!! I will admit, I am getting pretty bored here already since I can’t get a part time job until after my 4 week trip to Germany. And to top it all off, the people that Hans works with are all older than him.. so we know no one our age in Charlotte, sigh.. I can’t wait to start school!

Hans’ tacos: (the flour tortillas were tiny so I had 2)

4-10

Question of the day: Back to the lingonberry jam, spinach, goat cheese, turkey wrap combo… What is your favorite combination of foods that sounded gross together but tasted amazing?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Fiesta!

  1. Yum, I love tacos! My favourite odd combo…hmmm…spinach & PB sandwiches!

  2. What a creative idea with the jam! Totally love your scrumptious eats!

  3. I spy a wrap! And one I haven’t tried before…good call!

  4. zumba sounds like so much fun!!!
    delicious bowl of oats girl!

  5. Zumba sounds fun! I think I am going to Jam too! I love anything that is Jamtastic!

  6. You make me want to take zumba – sounds like a blast!

    Lingonberry!! So Swedish 😉 Have you ever had fig jam with swiss cheese and spinach? It’s a good sweet/savory combo for a sandwich. Another weird combo: toast/cottage cheese/hot sauce/pepper

  7. Zumba sounds like a blast! I wish they had the class at my gym. Tacos are yummy…great idea to put spinach in there! I’ll have to try that next time.

  8. your wrap sounds delicious! like turkey with cranberry sauce 🙂

    i love pb+pumpkin+hummus+cayenne+cinnamon 🙂

  9. that wrap looks oddly delicious!! i would probably never think to try that- but it looks yummy!

    i always thought i was weird for liking peanut butter and banana sanwiches as a kid…. hmmmm not so much! i think everyone loves those..

  10. gina (fitnessista)

    zumba is my favorite 😀
    my favorite kinda strange combo is strawberries stuffed with goat cheese
    hope your day goes well!

Leave a Reply

