Chokladbollar och Räkor

Good evening!! Happy Wednesday 🙂

The weekend is just around the corner!! and for those of you that are lucky like Hans, only 1 more day until the weekend. Hans has a 3 day weekend his first week at work! Lucky boy!! He has this Friday off for Easter. Speaking of… is any one doing anything fun for Easter? Hans and I will be on our own and I am not really sure what we will do, I may cook dinner but I am not sure what I will make yet, any good suggestions? It will just be the 2 of us! We need to start making our own traditions and I can’t remember what my family cooks for Easter anyway!

Thanks for the sweet comments about the bread that I baked yesterday. I seriously love to bake bread, it is one of my favorite things to do. I started baking bread when I was in Sweden (of course right? lol I learned how to do everything there.) Helena, Hans’ mom, taught me how to bake a simple whole wheat bread and it all goes from there. I started experimenting with different bread recipes and I even made my own sourdough starter. I just love every aspect of baking bread!! You can seriously never bake the same bread twice even if you use the same ingredients. It always turns out differently depending on the temperature, humidity and I am sure a bazillion other things. Yesterday our apartment smelled so wonderful after I baked the dark loaf, mmm.. one of my fav smells.

I walked across the street this morning to check out an all ladies gym. I felt so welcome there. The girl who owns the gym was super nice and showed me how to work all of the strength training machines (since I have never done any type of strength training) and set up a schedule for me. They have an impressive list of classes too. Including zumba!! I am looking forward to going on Friday morning! 🙂 They also offer an advanced power yoga class on Saturday mornings so I really lucked out with this gym being across the street from me. The yoga instructor that comes to do the class has her own yoga studio uptown in Charlotte so I am looking forward to seeing what her class is all about but unfortunately I won’t get to go until next week because the yoga instructor is out of town for Easter. At the gym, I ran intervals on the treadmill for a total of 35 minutes. I warmed up for 3 minutes and then ran for 1.30 and walked for 3 at a 5% incline until it was time to cool down. It felt amazing! After my sweat session, I focused on my lower body with the machines. I really wanted to get a gym membership because I am determined to tone up for summer time even though I really don’t know how to, haha!! I can already see more definition in my arms, love it!

Anyway.. back to food! Yesterday evening, Hans was craving some chokladbollar (swedish chocolate balls)! So, I decided to be a good little wifey and make him some. If you ever visit Sweden, you will see this little chocolate balls at about every coffee shop. They are okay, I prefer chocolate in other forms but they are still good. I got the recipe from here. If any one wants the original recipe, let me know and I will translate it. These are an indulgent treat that contain a lot of cocoa, oats, sugar and butter, 100 grams of butter to be exact! That’s a lot of butter! After I made them, I rolled them in pärlsocker (pearl sugar). While I was making these chocolate babies yesterday I had a revelation!!  I am going to try and “healthify” (is that a word haha??) this recipe! Sweet, I can’t wait to get started on it.  Here are the original chokladbollar that I made yesterday:

4-8-002

Hans and I were both starving tonight at like 5:30!! This never happens to us, we are usually late dinner eaters. So, I got started on a quick meal for dinner! I had some shrimp (or räkor in Swedish) marinating in the fridge so I tossed them in the skillet with some broccoli and served it over some basmati rice. Quick, healthy, delicious and satisfying! I marinated the shrimp in some olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and parsley, and I added some red pepper flakes after I sauteed them. I just put a mix of things into it that sounded good together and it turned out fabulous!

Garlic/Lemon Shrimp with Broccoli and Basmati Rice: I swear there is shrimp and rice under all that broccoli, hehe..

4-8-001

I am so excited for this weekend, I am hoping to drag Hans out to the History Museum! (Yes, I’m a total dork!)

Puss och Kram! (Kiss and hug på svenska)

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Chokladbollar och Räkor

  1. I’m glad you checked out that gym and found that it was so nice! It sounds great, especially if they have some good classes for you to try. Taking classes really helped me feel comfortable with lifting weights before I ever step foot into the weight area of my gym 🙂 Great job on the workout!!

  2. Those look tasty…but wow, that is a lot of butter! Have fun at the museum!

  3. good luck to hans on the jobbbb!!! 🙂 so excited for you guys!

  4. Those balls kind of look like little turds. Tasty turds, but turds. Oh, and if it makes you feel any better, your family doesn’t seem to be able to remember what we usually have for Easter dinner either. Except of course for your mom’s iced sugar cookies.

  5. omg those look really good!!!!!!! have a great weekend. xoxo

  6. Yay for chokladbollar! They’re good but the ingredients in them are frightening! So much butter and sugar and… ah, not exactly healthy stuff but once in a while you gotta indulge! 🙂 I make a healthy version of chokladbollar every once in a while by mixing up raw dates or other raw dried fruits and some raw nuts and then rolling them in shredded coconut. That makes raw “chokladbollar” 🙂 They’re super tasty too!

  7. wow! I’ve never seen choklabollar — they look DELISH! Definitely a fun treat 😉

  8. Oh course I adore all of your Swedish eats 🙂 Those choklabollar sounds fantastic!!

  9. mmm, seriously, i want to live in sweden and learn to cook like you. those chocolate balls are incredible!

  10. I just started reading your site – thanks for writing. I wanted to inform you that it’s not displaying correctly on the BlackBerry Browser (I have a Tour). Anyway, I am now subscribed to the RSS feed on my PC, so thanks again!

Leave a Reply

