Perfect…

Nature hike, the mall, wine, and chocolate.. all in the same day? Yes, you heard me right πŸ™‚ The perfect way to spend my Saturday! We woke up and searched for a trail online, and found a beautiful place right on the edge of North and South Carolina, it was serenity at it’s finest. Before heading to the nature hike, I fueled with an awesome breakfast! Pretty much the exact same thing that I ate yesterday for breakfast, I just missed my oats and kaffe so much!

1/2 cup oats, 1 tsp brown sugar, cinnamon, 1 small banana and a spoonful of Mighty Maple:

4-4-002

After breakfast, we set off! We walked around the nature hike for almost 2 hours. We saw some unique trees, there seems to be a variety of them in NC, we also got a glimpse of a beautiful lake.

4-4-001

Why did this fashionista wear ballet flats to go on a hike? Well… at least it wasn’t heels! πŸ˜‰

After our hike, we drove over the bridge to South Carolina, just to say that we have been there! Not much of a difference except we noticed that gas is 10 cents cheaper over the bridge! Craziness…

I was starving for lunch. After hiking in my ballet flats for almost 2 hours!! I threw together a delicious sandwich of an Arnold’s sandwich thin,Β  2 turkey slices, 1/4 of an avocado, a slice of tomato and some spinach with a light spread of hummus and honey mustard. I devoured this sandwich, mmm…!

4-41

After lunch, we went to the mall!!! Oh my gosh, I was amazed by this mall! The area was surrounded by breathtaking trees and all of the sudden… there’s the mall. The mall had the perfect combination of stores. From Louis Vuitton to Bebe, I was in fashion heaven. I found a fabulous top at bebe, and I wanted to buy it so badly!!!! But, somehow I refrained and reminded myself that I could buy clothes in a few months when we were back on our feet, it was so hard to walk away from that fantastic top… Talk about self control right there!

We got back from the mall, and I started to cook dinner. It was great to be in my own kitchen again and I loved being able to cook the foods that I enjoy eating instead of having to make do with the foods that my parents had. Tonight I cooked a recipe from my Cooking Light cookbook, I changed the recipe but not much so I won’t post the recipe since it was so similar, but I assure you, it was divine! I made chicken and eggplant curry for Hans and I with tomato sauce and basmati rice. Delish! I prefer brown rice and Hans prefers white, so we compromise with basmati rice. Somehow, it works.

4-4-012

I also enjoyed 2 (or 3… lol) glasses of red wine with dinner. I bought this wine mostly for the name because it struck my interest. MΓ©nage Γ  trois.. mmmhhhmmm.. but it ended up being a very dry tasting wine, which I adore! It was a blend of Zinfandel, Merlot and Cabernet… perfect! It was vinted by folie Γ  deux. I will be buying this wine again.

4-4-010

For dessert, I had a chocolate vitatop with peanut butter cup ice cream. Peanut butter and chocolate were made for each other. What a fabulous end do an amazing Saturday! Hope every one enjoyed theirs as well πŸ™‚ Bon samedi et gros bisous Γ  vous! (I love languages and I have studied French, Spanish and Swedish in the past. I plan to double major in English and French, in case you were curious)

4-4-013

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Perfect…

  1. mmmm pb cup ice cream. a vitatop. ahhh. i like the way you do saturday nights πŸ˜›

  2. Hahaha, totally love your ballet flats!!!! And mmmm yummy!

  3. What a lovely Saturday! πŸ™‚

  4. Chocolate and peanut butter were definitely made for each other! πŸ™‚

    That hike sounds like a lot of fun! And I LOVE the ballet flats while hiking…so cute!

    Glad you’re finding your way around! πŸ™‚

    Happy Sunday!

  5. You look so cute! Glad you guys had fun on your hike πŸ™‚

    Mmmm vino!!

  6. Sounds like my idea of a perfect Saturday!

  7. my mum loves that wine!

    and your dessert..YOWZAH.

Leave a Reply

