Maple Overload

Today has been all about relaxation. I can tell that Hans is getting nervous about starting his new job tomorrow and he won’t have any vacation days for 6 months so we just took it easy today, enjoying each other’s company and the beautiful sunny, spring weather.

This morning for breakfast I had a complete maple overload! Haha, it was delicious but after I thought about it, I noticed that I had maple x3 for breakfast πŸ™‚ I bought some Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles at Harris Teeter the other day, these waffles did not taste like they had been frozen, more like they just came off of the waffle iron.

4-5-001

I toasted up 2 maple waffles, spread both with a very thin layer of Mighty Maple Peanut Butter (less than a tbsp) with some banana slices, and topped it with a little maple syrup!

4-5-003

A fantastic breakfast for a lazy Sunday morning. After breakfast, it was time to hit theΒ  yoga mat. I haven’t been able to practice much yoga since we moved, so this was the first long yoga session in a week and I could definitely tell. My muscles were tight and sore from “shredding” and at the end of the yogadownload, I held plow pose for about 10 breaths and when I came out of the pose, and I had immediate pain in my back.. this never happens when I am practicing yoga, so I am hoping it was just a one time thing, having to deal with back pain almost every day is horrible enough without it messing with my yoga practice. Yoga was great besides the odd back pain after plow. πŸ™‚ I am glad to be back into the groove of things!

I thought I would switch up my posting today, because well.. posting about my food every day just seems like it would bore my readers. So, I decided to post what Hans had for lunch instead. When I lived in Sweden, I noticed that most Swedes eat a hot meal, both for lunch and dinner. (Maybe because it’s so cold?) This seems kind of weird to me because I always want a salad, sandwich, wrap or something for lunch. Hans told me that in high school they must eat the food that is provided for lunch. If you’re a vegetarian or have other special dietary needs then the school must meet those needs. Interesting.. I always liked to have a packed lunch in high school.

Anyway, back to Hans’ lunch! He eats pasta with meat sauce often for a quick meal. He sauteed half of an onion and some lean ground beef in the skillet, then added canned mushrooms, diced tomatoes and corn with some garlic and other spices. And yes, Hans loves ketchup in his pasta.. so he added that as well. Not something that I would eat for lunch because I prefer light lunches, but he seems to love it πŸ™‚

The canned goods:

4-5-004

On the stove:

4-5-006

He ate 1 portion for lunch today, and saved the rest to bring with him to work for lunch.

4-5-005

Hans’ quick spaghetti with meat sauce:

4-5-002

I am off to do a little strength training. I am using the workout in Self magazine for the Self challenge, and later on we are going for a nice, walk in the sun!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Maple Overload

  1. So much maple – how Canadian! Everything looks really yummy. I prefer cold meals for lunch, unless it’s a cup of soup or something. Not sure why, just what I am used to I suppose.

  2. I’ve been wondering about those waffles – thanks for reviewing them! I love seeing what guys eat! I think because it’s so different from what I’m used to eating. My German friends always had a hot meal for lunch as well (like pasta, steamed veggies, etc!).

  3. Oh my gosh, totally love the maple! Simply delicious!!!

  4. cleanveggiex3

    i can not tell you how long I have been wanting to try those waffles but somehow always manage to forget to pick them up!! sounds like a lovely breakfast πŸ™‚

  5. those waffles look SO good!!! i wanna find those ! πŸ™‚

  6. I have been a convert from a Hot meal kind of person to a cold meal kind. Mostly because I am on the run with my classes and something like a wrap or SW fits perfectly!

    Love the Maple waffle!

Leave a Reply

