Pizza and Sushi Night

I am so thankful that I finally got to enjoy having our own apartment again since we lived in Sweden!! This is the first apartment for me in the states (besides disgusting freshman dorms) and it was so nice to wake up in the morning and not have to worry about waking up every one in my family, who sleeps until 11 on the weekend. Hans and I always wake up at about 7 am without an alarm.

I can’t tell to you enough how much I was looking forward to my breakfast this morning. I have been craving my normal oats and coffee since we started traveling after I had to live off of bars and instant oatmeal. And let me tell you…. It did not disappoint this morning! The oats tasted better than I remembered.. so warm, thick, maple peanut buttery (one of the first things I bought at the grocery store was my Mighty Maple, of course!!) and just so dang good! Don’t worry coffee, I missed you too! Weak hotel coffee=nasty, watery crap! How did I manage without my yummy breakfasts and coffee? It was a miracle. I am a simple person and this was my favorite part of the day.

1/2 cup oats, 1 tsp brown sugar, cinnamon, 1 small banana and a spoonful of heaven: I got so full about half way and couldn’t eat all my oats!! Hunger can be so weird sometimes, I am usually ravenous when it comes to breakfast.

4-3-001

After breakfast, Hans and I set out to explore the surroundings around our apartment. We walked around the area for 1.5 hours! Cardio.. check! It was such a beautiful day in North Carolina, sunny, and 70 degrees. Perfect for a walk!

After our long walk, I sat down to lunch at our coffee table since we have no kitchen table yet. I had a fantastic wrap that consisted of a Flat Out, about 2 tbsp of garlic roasted hummus, spinach, broccoli slaw and tomatoes:

4-3-003

And a juicy apple on the side:

4-3-005

For dessert, I had a date filled with heaven (Oh, how I love you!!):

4-3-004

**I was thinking of some potential places to find a part time job before I start school in August, and I can hardly think of any! Grr… The problem is… that I have a bad back from all those years of gymnastics and cheerleading, and I can’t stand up for longer than a few hours without pain. Hopefully, I can find one soon otherwise it’s gonna be a pretty uneventful summer. I called about substituting and they are full for the year, darn.. I will keep looking.

My afternoon snack was half of a Maple Nut clif bar, this clif bar tasted better than the carrot cake, it wasn’t as sweet and if you couldn’t tell already, I love anything maple, always!

4-3-006

For dinner, Hans really wanted to walk to the pizza place across the street and sit on the couch, eat pizza, and watch tv, haha typical guy! So, I ran up to the grocery store and got some brown rice sushi, nothing special, just your normal california roll. It was okay. It was sushi, and I love sushi…. so it was thoroughly enjoyed! I had some steamed broccoli w/salt, pepper and garlic powder on the side.

4-3-0071

I finally got around to taking my “before” photo and measurements for the Oh She Glows Bikini Body Boot Camp. I can’t say that I am rather thrilled with the photo, but it’s not as bad as I thought it would be, hehe. I put the photo on my desktop since we had no printer for me to print it off yet. So, every time I get on my laptop, ahhh.. there it is!! Well, that’s motivation enough. I was debating whether or not to post my measurements, so we’ll see how I feel later on. For the exercise part of the challenge, I held plank for 30 seconds, 2 sets and side plank for 30 seconds, 2 sets and wide plank for 30 seconds. As for the yoga part, that was easy since I do yoga almost every day anyway. However, I am having trouble with ideas to add more strength training to my normal exercise routine since I don’t have a gym membership. It doesn’t help that I have no knowledge of strength training, whatsoever. So, I broke down and bought the infamous “Shred”. After Caitlin’s fantastic results, I figured why not. Let me just say, Jillian totally kicked my ass!!  I won’t really get into it since I am sure that many of you have heard about it already.

P.S. It’s Friday!!! Yay, for the weekend! This is Hans’ last weekend before he has to grow up and start his big boy job 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Pizza and Sushi Night

  1. Haleigh, so glad you’re getting settled and back into a routine. i just caught up on your past few posts, and what a quick move! your travel meals look pretty darn delicious to me, but i know how good it feels to get back to the homemade oats! enjoy your first full weekend together in your new apartment and city. charlotte sounds SO charming!

  2. Your flat our wrap looks fabulous! I love having my own condo too – it’s so much nicer than dorms or living with parents.

  3. I’m thinking about trying The Shred soon too! So glad you’re enjoying your new apartment…being on your own is a treat 🙂

  4. Oh wow, that is one tasty day!

  5. The brown rice sushi looks so good as well as your flat out wrap! So nice to read that you are enjoying your new apartment. I did my first workout with Jillian and all I can say is that i can barely move. All sore!

  6. What a delish wrap! Love that Clif bar as well 🙂

    Hotel coffee…the thing with coffee is that when it’s good, it’s great but when it’s bad…it’s OH SO BAD! Glad you got a good cup!

  7. urgh! instant oatmeal! how can it compare to real, stove-cooked oats? glad you finally can get a good, relaxed, home-cooked breakfast! there is nothing like it.

  8. I’m looking forward to hearing how you integrate strength training without the gym – it’s something I’m trying to do to!
    hope you have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

